We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless English Country Hotel & Inn hospitality, ambiance and very good food”
Review of Crosby Lodge - CLOSED

Crosby Lodge
Price range: $42 - $70
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This charismatic restaurant set in the Cumbrian countryside is a divine setting in which to enjoy sumptuous homemade meals. The Crosby Lodge restaurant, set in a stately Georgian manor overlooking picturesque parklands and the River Eden, has a vibrant red dining room filled with antique furniture, vintage lamps and quirky knick knacks, and the eclectic vibe reflects the friendly down-to-earth service. The modern British menu, complimented by an extensive wine list by Philippa Sedgwick Wines, features classic dishes such as smoked salmon served with dill, black pepper and cream cheese mousse; Châteaubriand; and pork chops served with black pudding mash and roast apples. Crosby Lodge is the perfect setting for romantic meals, parties and luxurious weekend escapes.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Crosby Lodge has evolved from a country house built in 1805 and maintaining a lot of its original architecture and charm, including beautiful gardens and surrounded by the Cumbrian countryside, near the path of the western end of the Roman Wall. Approximately only 4 miles to the east of both the M6 and Carlisle and accessible via the main road from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in less than an hour, it is extremely convenient for visitors. This is a beautiful setting for a quiet and extended social or business dinner or lunch. Equally, it is a terrific venue for a family Sunday lunch. The food is exceptionally good and features much of the best of fresh local ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank drkwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crosbylodge, Owner at Crosby Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Patricia and her staff are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Crosby Lodge, and very much appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

We have just spent a totally enjoyable evening at the Crosby Lodge restaurant, and have to say that the meal was perfect in its' entirety - every course was perfect, from my tasty Brown Shrimps in garlic, to the wonderful generous and perfectly cooked Fillet Steak, right through to the lovely Dessert. The wine which we chose was an Australian Shiraz (a real rich 14 per cent-er) - my husband had a Pork starter, and a Fillet Medaillions with red cabbage - and he was too full to even think about a Dessert! All in all, everything was wonderful thank you. What a superb Wedding Anniversary treat for us, after a very long and tiring journey from the Dordogne in the south-west of France - just what we needed! Five stars all round !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StTropezLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crosbylodge, Owner at Crosby Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Patricia and her team are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Crosby.
Five stars across the board was wonderful to read.
Hopefully we may see you for your next anniversary.
All our best wishes.
Crosby Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This review is just concerned with the restaurant and food not the accommodation in the hotel.
My wife and I decided to have dinner here whilst on a short break in Cumbria, this was based on the 2011 Michelin Guides iPhone Ap. Not too sure how long ago an inspector visited but it must be worth him having another look to up-date the opinion.

A beautiful old house that has been a hotel for forty years, or so they say and it looks as though it has hardly changed in all of them. One has to recognise that an ultra modern look would be totally out of keeping with the character of the house but a good de-clutter and general brightening up would do wonders for the place. The atmosphere is as dark as the decor and one constantly expected an Edwardian gentleman to appear having just dressed for dinner.

The reception was deserted on arrival but one clang on a large ships style bell did produce a response and a friendly one at that. The bar area is perhaps the brightest of the areas we saw and the bar itself was impressive with its brass sheeted front no doubt hell to keep clean.

The menu looked fine and covered most basic centre plates and the wine list very extensive, so extensive it got rather boring before one reached the end.

We settled on a dozen snails and duck two ways to start followed by butterflied salmon with Dublin bay prawn (AKA Langoustine) and pork three ways as the mains and one of us managed a dessert from the trolley of baked cheese cake with poached orange in white wine. The order was taken by the owner, a grand lady of advancing years and aloof attitude.

I defy anyone to mess up heating snails from frozen, they were excellent and from UK grown snails so fresh (well, frozen) rather than the chewy rubber bands one gets from a can. The duck was breast and a half a duck egg, was it smoked? It looked like it could have been. The breast was over cooked and tough and all in all a strange dish.

The salmon was perfectly cooked but the Dublin bay prawn looked rather like an ordinary one, the pork was a bit of a curates egg, good in parts. The loin was perfect, well cooked and moist, the rolled belly was good but the third piece, it looked a bit like a thin slice off a chop, was well over cooked and tough and chewy. The selection of vegetables stated on the menu turned out to be two pieces of pretty dried up duchess potato and a few well under cooked carrot pieces, darkened on the outside, something to do with port but not too sure what or what the purpose was, they were not very palatable. More vegetables were available but at extra cost, quite a large extra cost considering the cost of the mains. Now to the cheesecake, from the rather old fashioned but quite extensive trolley. There is an old saying, there is nothing like a nice cheesecake and this was nothing like a nice cheesecake! It was solid, hard, dry, crumbly and cloying, it stuck to the inside of the mouth, clung to the teeth like a limpet and coated the throat like a damp flannel, mark you the oranges made up for it, they were delicious.

Would we return for a second look, umm not a chance, there are far better and more appealing alternatives in the area, with much better value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
4  Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

From initial arrival you see the lovely building in front of you and this gives you the feeling of a special evening. We had drinks in the lounge and chose our meals, there was a good choice. We had olives and nibbles served with our drinks. Afterwards we went into the dining room which was adorned with lovely paintings and ornaments absolutely in keeping with the building.
The food was marvellous, from starter to dessert, it was without fault. The service was attentive but not intrusive and very polite.
We finished by having coffee and a choice of petit fours in the lounge.
we were there for our anniversary and had a beautiful meal in lovely surroundings.
We will definately go again and will take my mother when she is over from Spain.
Well done, all of the staff from the owners to the waitress and not forgetting the chef, could not be faulted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tom-n-cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crosbylodge, Owner at Crosby Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you enjoyed Crosby Lodge, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We'd arrived in Carlisle for a weekend to walk (part of) Hadrian's Wall and thankfully found this beautiful restaurant/hotel online. My boyfriend fell in love with the Georgian house and entrance hall, with a fire and a bell to ring for reception. We were ushered into the lounge, where we ordered our meals and were given olives and nibbles and an aperatif to start us off. At £28 pp, the set menu was amazingly good value. Between us we sampled mushroom with goats cheese and haggis with pea puree to start. A fish course was included. Both of us then went for steak, perfectly cooked, much to my boyfriend's delight.
We were incredibly full at this point but still managed to squeeze in dessert. My boyfriend went for chocolate torte, whilst I had the best tiramasu I have ever tasted.
After all this, we were given coffee and petit fours in the drawing room, whilst our wonderful hostess rang for a taxi for us. It was the most enjoyable evening we've had for a while, with the food, the beautiful period surroundings and the warm welcome we received made all the difference.
If you are planning on visiting Carlisle or the wall, make a pitstop here. We'll be going back, hopefully, to stay in one of their lovely looking rooms.

1  Thank ssrena365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crosby Lodge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing