We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Carlisle
Post
Inbox
Search

“Underwhelming”

Ruen Thai Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 382 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Starter appeared processed had absolutely no texture served with limp lettuce.
Main course lukewarm. 1 mushroom found....
No alcohol free drinks other than standard fizzy drinks.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 67lisaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

2 waiters and 1 chef, only went to pick a takeaway up, told an hour wait on phone, went to collect an hour later, had to wait 40 minutes in the restaurant on top of that first hour, then handed my food and then told the prawn crackers would be 1 minute, decided to leave after 10 minutes with a cold meal. Won't be going back.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank dazbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Read some good reviews about this place so planned to visit with family on Boxing Day. Food was ok (which is why the rating is poor not terrible) but service was shocking and staff were just disinterested. They also seemed understaffed. We ended up leaving early and saying no to the sweet, teas and coffees which was part of the set menu we ordered.

Shame and probably won’t be back.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank leswerve977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019 via mobile

Midweek take away, very well priced, didn’t take too long, very nice staff and the food was fantastic.

Definitely recommend!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 997liamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We had a long day of walking the Hadrian’s Wall path and wanted a good dinner. I called two restaurants but they were booked for a Friday and Saturday night. Lucky for us I called Ruen Thai and was able to get a reservation. We walked there and were charmed by the decor and the lovely waitstaff. Prawn crackers arrived in minutes with our jasmine tea. We had the aromatic chicken & coconut milk soup & then we both had a noodle dish. Perfect and easy. Great choice.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConnieatBamff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Ruen Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing