We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover”

Ruen Thai Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 341 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

In this case appearances can be deceiving. Having had this restaurant recommended when I arrived there was no menu outside and the initial outside appearance was ordinary. So imagine my surprise when I opened the door to a tresure trove of oriental furniture and decor. The staff where in Thai costume and very friendly. Now to the food. Quite superb. Lovely flavours from the dishes my party and I experienced. One of the best Thai restaurants i've eaten in. When i'm next in Carlisle I will definitely be going there again. highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    51
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spoiled it for me”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good meal. My only vote against this restaurant is that the vegetables in the dishes were all almost raw, which spoiled my whole visit and meal. Won't be visiting again unless they cook their vegetables and not give us al dente.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelface28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant in the heart of the city”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a team dinner there. The restaurant is very close to the city centre and the chairs / tables themselves are beautiful works of art. However the cuisine / flavours weren't as good as some of the other Thai establishments in the Carlisle / Eden region which was a shame (don't know whether this was a dish specific issue or not).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As soon as you walk in you're blown away with the look of the place. The whole decor is amazing. The staff are fantastic and to top it all of the food is exceptional!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommmmyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wow factor with furniture”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good menu, I asked if one of the menu choice could be less hot for me, this wa done and I was told if it was still too hot they would help advise me with a different choice, this was not needed. For me this shows the food is made for each customer, everyone was pleased with their mea, the hand crafted furniture was pretty amazing. Cost of meals would suit different occasions

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Ruen Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing