We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small a portion”
Review of Gallo Rosso - CLOSED

Gallo Rosso
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Carlisle
1 review
“Too small a portion”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I'd recommend anyone planning to eat here have their tea before coming. The portion sizes are pathetic, seriously over priced for what they are. My dessert consisted of a couple of mouth full's of sticky toffee pudding with one scoop of ice cream for the painful sum of £5.90!
Arrived hungry, left hungry! Ended up getting a pizza on my way back home to fill me up good and proper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamieeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Have just had a birthday meal and the service & food was excellent. There were six of us in the party & we all had our food served at the same time. The waiter serving us was very attentive & friendly. The drinks are not overpriced. It is well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've just been to the Gallo Rosso, Parkhouse, Carlisle for Sunday lunch to celebrate my wife's and our friend's birthdays. We've been previously for evening meals but this was the first Sunday lunch. The food was exceptional and very nicely presented. The total cost of food and drink was very reasonable. I would certainly go again on a Sunday !! Closed on a Tuesday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Superb lunch top quality prepared by the owner just for you.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Over a period of years my wife and myself have eaten lunch here many times and it is consistently excellent.Service slick everything a delight in presentation and flavour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackarrowthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We came for a meal here at the weekend and having been a few times over 5 years previous (despite living a mile away) were surprised that that menu was exactly the same!
Service was ok buy we were very rushed through which should not be the case for the price of this meal! £170 for 4 people and we sat down at 7 and all 3 courses ate by 8!
Food ok nothing special and lot worth a return visit. Goats cheese starter was literally a piece of goats cheese with a pinch of salad and chutney for £7. Mains were small, maybe to advocate fine dining when actually every meal could of been prepared at home easily. Steak with 3 potatoes and 2 pieces of broccoli for £21.
All in all will continue to bypass here and go into town for much nicer food at a more welcoming pace.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CampCasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Rosso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing