We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the viceroy”
Review of The Viceroy

The Viceroy
Ranked #48 of 346 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Viceroy is a multi-award winning restaurant which was est.1991.Here at The Viceroy you can expect some of the finest Bangladeshi cuisine prepared by world class chefs and served by top class waiters in a family friendly atmosphere.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the viceroy”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I go here often and its pretty much always good, the service is brilliant the guys there are very good at looking after you and its a nice relaxed atmosphere.The only negative point i would say is sometimes we get a takeaway and a couple of times its been wrong or things are missing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    65
    26
    27
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Beautiful food in a relaxed atmosphere .”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a lovely time. The food was delicious and the service was brilliant they were also very good with my one year old son.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlysimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were staying in Carlisle and used recommendations and reviews on Tripadvisor to try this restaurant. Its tucked away and not sure we would have found it if it hadnt been for our sat nav !
We were welcomed on arrival and offered a table straight away. We had starters, main, sides and drinks. The food was excellent but I have only rated it 'very good' as we had a couple of issues with the meal. When our starters (bhuna prawn on puree) arrived there was no side salad served with it and I could also see finger prints round edge of my plate. I ordered a tandoori dish for my main and the king prawns were missing. I pointed this out to the waiter and when we paid it had been reflected in the bill. All in all great restaurant, nice food and friendly staff and we would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedivacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Best indian food in the whole of cumbria usually get a take out every week but last night me and my boyfriend went for a sit down meal service was excellent and food amazing as usual can't wait to come for my next sit down meal here!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible food and service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Terrible taste of food. Low service and it didn't do as it has advertised to be the best... Not recommend this place..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank krish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viceroy also viewed

 

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing