We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough”
Review of Gilded Lily - CLOSED

Gilded Lily
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Cockermouth
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had been here before a couple of years ago and thought it was great so went back again on another trip to Carlisle. Unfortunately it caused us to utter the most damning of assessments - "it's not as good as it was". In fact the food was quite pleasant and the service was reasonably friendly given that they were very busy (unfortunately we were assured there wouldn't be much of a wait despite the business, but there was), but had it been better we would have stayed for a pudding and coffee too, but we moved on elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    58
    20
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food , ambience”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had dinner here on Friday night , couple of drinks at the bar , lovely atmosphere for early evening drinks . Food was absolutely superb , assiete of lamb for me , chicken with haggis in whisky sauce for my wife , as good a meal as we have had in a long time , and very good value . This is a really nice place that has got the formula absolutely right , smart yet unpretentious , great ambience / decor ,with friendly , highly efficent staff . Top marks

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiamB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ladies Toilets are Poor”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely decor and ambience downstairs. Portion sizes small but not really good value for money. Two courses are required to curb your hunger and I am not a big eater. Ladies toilets are poor. Broken toilet seats repaired with gaffer tape or removed and missing altogether. Freezing cold water supply to the wash hand basins in the ladies- in fact there has never been any hot water on any occasion that I have visited these premises. The drinks aren't cheap so hot water is an expectation. I would expect better in a bistro of this so- called calibre. Get your ladies toilets sorted. There are plenty of other nice places to go these days and if things don't improve, I won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sputnik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deserves to be ranked higher than #64 in Carlisle”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very busy restaurant with great atmosphere. The food was outstanding and the cocktails were to die for. I'd recommend booking on busy evenings if you can as we waited 20 minutes for a table but the waitresses were wonderful and kept us informed of when we would be seated. Portion sizes were on the small side but the tastes were out of this world.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“gilded lily”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

awesome relaxing place to chill over a lovely cocktail or a glass of wine, very friendly staff clean and sophisticated. had food in here too and was not disappointed. the presentation was fab!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilded Lily also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing