We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service Linda and John”
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

we booked this hotel just for us to have a weekend away it was outstanding room was fab ,the owner made us really welcome nothing was too much bother .the food was really good. At night very quiet overall we really enjoyed our stay .We will return for a longer visit .The price was good value .. we would recommend this hotel ...We had evening meals really good value ..

Room Tip: any room we had room (no 16) very quiet and plenty space .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_simpson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked direct via the hotel website after searching Trivago. The price was excellent value (£59 for double room including breakfast for two!) we also used an offer code they had on at the time so we got a complimentary bottle of wine (which was ready in our room with glasses on arrival). Good size en suite room, lovely and quiet and absolutely spotless. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi and the room had everything you could need. We had a really warm welcome and the owner was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was really good (vegetarian sausages much appreciated!) and served in a lovely dining room with a relaxing atmosphere (we sat in there for over an hour!) and the owners were attentive to our needs but not over the top. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return next time we visit Carlisle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dew121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the outside there is little to suggest that behind the front there is a comfortable welcoming hotel, but that's what we found once inside. The owner made us welcome and showed us to our room (no. 16) which was tucked away at the back of the hotel. It looks as though it had been recently refurbished as everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent - all freshly prepared and nicely presented - nothing kept warm under a heat-lamp! Would definitely recommend and stay again if in Carlisle.

Room Tip: A room at the back will be quieter than one overlooking Scotland Road. Some rooms are not en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel via my phone on booking.com. I am so glad I did because it is lovely and comfortable. The rooms are fantastic and although we overlooked the main road it was not intrusive. There is the opportunity to have an evening meal. We did instead of going into town and it was delicious. But if you are going into town it is only a 10 minute walk. I understand that people complain because they cannot set down outside the hotel, but the car park is only up the road, so that is no problem. So the evening meal was great, so was the breakfast. If I was in Carlisle again I would stay here. So should you, it is really a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogey567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we had booked a triple room online, no problem at all. Room was clean, functional, good bathroom-met our needs. Breakfast service and food were great. Would certainly use again and recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in Carlisle. This hotel was fantastic. We were made feel welcome from the start in this very homely and comfortable Hotel. The rooms were first class, bed comfortable and over all was just a great weekend. The Breakfast was also first class and loads to eat and all the fresh coffee you wanted. Would deffo return there and would recommend 100%.

Room Tip: 10 min walk to the City centre. Although there was no parking at the Hotel there is a car park 25 ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon123Belshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked for 2 nights as my husband wanted to walk Hadrians Wall and the hotel is right there on the foundations. Clean quiet room with all we needed. Good shower and towels. Breakfast with choice of starters and cooked items served by friendly staff. Friday was extremely wet and proprietor kindly dried out my husbands clothes without any problem. Well within reach of city by foot and parking permit supplied for parking area very close to hotel. Ate in on the second evening and meal was fine. There is a lounge for residents with plenty of comfortable seating. A good choice for a short stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#10 of 20 in Carlisle
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,088 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 14-16 Scotland Road | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: $80 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel, situated just 10 minutes walk to Carlisle city centre. The building itself dates back to the 1850's, so has plenty of charm and character retaining many original features. It has undergone an extensive programme of refurbishment ensuring guests have all the modern facilities they require during their stay.If you are looking for hotel accommodation in Carlisle that provides exceptional friendly service, comfortable spotlessly clean rooms with modern facilities, free wi-fi, quality breakfasts, informal evening dining and is fully licensed then look no further.All bedrooms are tastefully styled and furnished, including flat screen TV's, free Wi-Fi and fully refurbished ensuite bathrooms. Every guest is assured of a warm and friendly welcome with a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing