We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East View Guest House
Ranked #31 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stopover”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in June whilst on our way to Scotland. What a great choice it was. The room was lovely, really spacious, and my wife was particularly impressed with the little touches.

The location is great, only a few minutes from the motorway, and about a 5 to 10 minute walk into town.

For me the highlight was breakfast, be warned, turn up hungry. There was a great range of fresh fruits, cereal etc, but Julie's full English breakfast is magnificent.

If we had had the time I would have definately stayed here again on the way South.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor with the bathroom in the attic space is lovely (Number 7 if memory serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
29
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed with my partner at this b&b for a weekend while he worked in Carlisle.

The room we stayed I was bright and airy and tastefully decorated. But I have been most impressed by the little touches which one would only expect in a very expensive hotel. Hand cream, cotton buds and beautifully fluffy towels are little touches, but make everything mire comfortable.

The room was also so comfortable to sleep in that I had an accidental afternoon nap!

During my stay the public areas of the guest house were being decorated, so I cannot comment on what they will look like. However, if the rest of the building is decorated to the same standards as the rooms then I am sure it will be lovely.

Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we stayed 4 nights at the East View whilst exploring the local area. We had a second floor room which was spacious with a walk in wardrobe, lots of drawers for storage and a lovely en suite bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the rooms were warm but not too hot. Breakfast was excellent with fruit, yoghurt, croissants, cheeses, hams and the full English if required.
The location is a short walk from town and there are plenty of local resturants on the same street.

The proprioters are frendly and very helpful. If we return to Carlisle we would have no hesitation in booking here again

Room Tip: Higer floors might be difficult for those with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the best B&B experience i've had (having visited 6 of them throughout Great Britain).
The room was very spacious, beautifully designed and fully equipped with all the possible amenities. It was also very clean.
The delicious breakfast included high-quality cheeses and meats, and the dished were just lovely.
The location is close to the town center.
Overall, it was a great experience and i only regret not staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCG_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent accommodation, warm welcome, nice warms rooms and the best breakfast in town.
Superb value, will definitely book again.
Great location, short walk into town centre and close to several eating places.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor double. Hardly heard road noise. Slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this guest house after spending the day Christmas shopping in Carlisle. It is within easy walking distance of the town centre and also very easy to get to by car. We received a friendly welcome.

We stayed in a second floor room, this was extremely spacious and freshly decorated. It had a quaint ensuite which was up a small flight of stairs inside the bedroom, this was well fitted out and had a great supply of nice toiletries. The bed was made up with blankets but there was a duvet in the cupboard.

There was a great variety of cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices etc; the cooked breakfast was well prepared and served promptly. Would definitely recommend and would go again next time we are in Carlisle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a small B&B. We had a twin room that was a good size - we have stayed in hotels with smaller rooms. The decor was modern and the beds were comfy with quality bed linen. The shower room itself was compact but the actual shower cubicle was roomy. Toiletries were supplied. Like the bedroom, the shower room was spotless.
We were woken early by the sound of an extractor fan/shower running in nearby room(s). Still this meant we were on time for breakfast that is served between 7.30-8,30 only. This is a bit too early when you are on holiday. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of hot and cold quality food. It was nice to have jam and marmalade in proper pots rather than fiddly little packets and we were asked if we wanted more tea/coffee.
The B&B is only 10 minutes walk from the town centre yet once rush hour is over its nice and quiet. There is an Italian restaurant on the walk into town that the B&B owner recommended. It must be good as at 18.00 it was full and we could not get in so do book if you want to eat there!
If you cannot get into the small car park there is plenty on street parking to the rear (owner will give you parking permit)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerways Guest House
Cornerways Guest House
#3 of 61 in Carlisle
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Cherry Grove Guest House
#28 of 61 in Carlisle
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#6 of 61 in Carlisle
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 61 in Carlisle
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#14 of 61 in Carlisle
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East View Guest House

Property: East View Guest House
Address: 110 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — East View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable, all en-suite townhouse, East View Guest House is close to city centre and all amenities. Wide choices of breakfast menu, special diets catered for. An ideal base to stay for the Lake District and Hadrians Wall walkers or even a cozy stop over on the way to Scotland. We are also within walking distance to many fine restaurants (10mins), sports centers and Sands Centre Theatre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing