We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, great service.”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #108 of 341 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Carlisle offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am always wary of chain restaurants as often they serve up generic ready meal style fare. Pizza express is a welcome exception to the rule.
The quality of the food is superb, the pizzas beating many of the local italian restaurants. The service is always welcoming and friendly, the staff are attentive and courteous.
If I was to offer a tip,book in advance for peak times it can get busy, oh and look online for vouchers, there are often great savings to be had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    86
    54
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

For my birthday my husband organised a surprise meal with all the family, there were 10 of us, my daughter ordered everybody's meals in advance to save time on the waiting, mine was the only one to order, as it was a surprise. We had a very enjoyable evening, the food was excellent, all empty plates. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. My daughter had taken in a birthday cake which one of the staff brought after our meal with candles lit, he also brought plates and spoons and napkins for everyone who wanted the cake. Most of our family had a sweet as they all enjoy them there. Overall a very happy family evening, very family friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chesterholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely food, great service!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a 3course meal and the food was very nice, well cooked and served within reasonable time.
At first my pasta was on the cold side but after informing the staff they were more than happy to rectify this and the new pasta was delicious.
No complaints at all, given the price we were more than happy to pay!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoungCouple6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food, Horrendous service.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We wanted something to eat. We stood waiting for a table despite the restaurant not being overly busy. We were seen to and placed on a table. We were then left for about 10 minutes before somebody came to serve. We were offered drinks at the same time.

The food turned up after not too long a wait and was plonked on to the table as the waitress struggled to serve from across the table. A pizza in lap situation was narrowly avoided.

The food was average, we didn't expect great things, but the service really is poor and could do with being looked at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK for a chain”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Typical franchise operation. Pizzas OK but other food not great. Like all P.Express' you need to be aware of Internet vouchers to get savings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing