We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant!”
Review of Thai1

Thai1
Ranked #43 of 482 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant many times with my friends and family over the years and it is always an incredible meal out! It is by far my favourite restaurant in the whole town...certainly worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    54
    21
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Naze
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thai 1The best Thai in Essex”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had not been to Thai 1 for a while but were treated like old friends. Once again we had a fabulous meal at a very good price. The owner is English and his wife is Thai so everything is explained with no language barrier and you get exactly what you want. We only live about half an hour from Colchester but I would go a lot of miles for this one, It's brilliant. If it helps the phone No is 01205870770. Give it a go you won't be dissapointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Want to go back!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a great meal here on a busy Saturday night. They fit us (table of 4) in with no fuss although they were busy and the service continued to be good throughout the meal. The food was very good, as was the house wine. Overall it was a great meal and I would go again when next in Colchester. Tripadvisor recommendations did not disappoint - we all enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belindajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops storford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Four of us viisted this restaurant on a Sunday evening - 2 adults & 2 children. It was to celebrate a 50th birthday. We chose the Thai1 because of the recommendations on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. This was a first for the children as they haven't eaten at a Thai restaurant before. We all thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was excellent and we were served by 2 very efficient & genial waiters. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic takeaway”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been having takeaways from here for ages but decided it was about time we wrote about how great the food is!

We cannot fault the quality and taste of the food. We have tried an assortment of dishes but the Thai green, chicken with ginger and spring onions and pad Thai are our favourites. The staff are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble - I like my pad Thai with chicken and they are happy to oblige.

We wouldn't go anywhere else for Thai food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolly1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai1 also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Thai1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing