We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner great service”
Review of Thai1

Thai1
Ranked #37 of 477 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great dinner great service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good food freshly cooked good service and excellent value for money forget discounted venues (( you will allways get watt you pay for )) freshness is king loved thay one be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruttissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    53
    21
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food and very reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Dined here for an early meal with a group of 12 "mature" women (i.e. we weren't in our 20's!) before heading out for a cocktail making class as part as a civilised hen weekend. We had a pre-arranged set menu for an astonishing cheap price, and the food was great quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimBuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have visited Thai 1 many times and can categorically state that this restaurant is the best in Colchester, I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 428LizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in East Anglia”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Was in Colchester on business and fancied Thai food. This was a great Thai restaurant with superb food and friendly efficient staff. The ice cream for dessert was out of this world.

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good - but didn't live up to the fantastic reviews”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Decided to try this place whilst in the area on business - based upon the strength of the trip advisor reviews. Made the effort to walk across Colchester and was expecting something really fantastic - what I got was OK but nothing more. I am not however a regular eater of Thai food - so my comment need to be taken in that context. I ordered the Poh Tak soup - a mixed seafood soup with Chilli, lemon grass and lime leaf. I enjoyed this - although it was quite insubstantial for a £5.95 starter. I then had the Pat Thai Jay - which was OK - but nothing more - and tasted a bit over sweet and slightly charred. Overall the meal with a couple of beers came to just under £20 - so not over the top in terms of price - and all was OK - but doubt that I would make a special effort to visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai1 also viewed

 

Been to Thai1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing