We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food”

North Hill Noodle Bar
Ranked #4 of 476 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great food, we'll cooked and friendly staff and atmosphere. Ideal if you want a quick light meal. Have been many times and have never been let down. Try it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    175
    35
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bland food and poor service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with a friend and we both opted for a vegetarian meal. I had something based with rice and she had a noodle soup. We both found our meals bland and kept having to add soy sauce and chilli oil. Hers looked like vegetables, noodles, and stock. Another customer we spoke to said she had heard from someone that the vegetarian options were bland but the meat/seafood options were good.

The service was poor. Dragging a smile out of our waitress was impossible and being wished a good evening as we walked past her...? Not a chance.

For all the good verbal reviews I'd been given it was disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank EntityLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Had an "express lunch" here today & it was really good - Singapore noodles & a Tsingtao beer for £10.
Staff were friendly & efficient. The restaurant is housed in a quirky old building with modern furnishings.

Helpful?
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I absolutely love this restaurant. I've moved away to uni but every time I'm home in the holidays I make sure I stop here. The spicy tofu is amazing to start! And so many tasty fresh mains to choose from. The only down side is the size of the place, so some times you may have to wait for a table, but it is well worth the wait!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime spot”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We only discovered this place last weekend, but liked it so much we went for lunch both days. Good selection of noodles and rice dishes, which are very well-cooked and tasty. Good value for money as well. Service quick and efficient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Hill Noodle Bar also viewed

Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to North Hill Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing