We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for a celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Rouge - Colchester - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Colchester
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated on Colchester's bustling High Street, the restaurant offers a fantastic menu filled with delicious innovative takes on the classics and dishes inspired by different regions of France, there's something to suit everyone. We have the perfect setting in which to meet friends or just unwind over a glass of your favourite.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent place for a celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Attended a Christmas celebration here with a party of 10+. Vegetarian choice was decent if, as usual almost everywhere, lacking in protein content. Service was quite prompt and flexible for one of the busiest nights of the year, and we also appreciated the flexibility over splitting the bill.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    59
    28
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent service with really friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Opposite the George Hotel. Good varied menu and staff who were very attentive. We ordered a bottle of Cremant and some cassis and framboise so we could mix our own Kirs and we were NOT charged for these liqueurs. The waitress kept refilling our glasses for us. A most enjoyable evening!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cafe of choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I can't comment on the food as I only ever go in Cafe Rouge for coffee with a friend, however, the ambience is always nice and the staff pleasant. There are a few minor issues with the general decor needing a bit of repair here and there but in general I like the slightly bohemian feel of the place. It's nice to be able to sit next to one of the large windows watching people go by as we put the world to rights. I also like the fact that even though there are just two of us at a table and we manage to make two coffees last a couple of hours, staff never try to rush us or make us feel that we have to order anything else. The toilets are up a steep staircase to the back of the restaurant and are clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Un petit morceau de France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A little piece of France, well it feels that way. The interior resembles a french bistro and the food is very good. My husband had boeuf de bourguignon, my daughter salmon croquettes, my grandson gigot d'agneau, my son ribeye steak and I had confit de canard. However, the amount of food seems to shrink a little and the price seems to increase a little each time we go. The creme brulee was quite small, actually very small, and expensive for a high street cafe. However i gave a "very good" rating specifically because it tasted so good..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snipsnapsnorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A restaurant chain that is over priced, over rated and past its sell by date!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Terrible food, who can get a Salad Paysanne wrong ... they can! Tasteless and not worth the £12 they charge. Then they served burnt fries ... and the final bill for two was nearly £50! Avoid it and go to an independent place where they will value you and their food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyPicklyLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Colchester also viewed

Great Tey, Colchester
Frating, Colchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing