We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A super place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Castellan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cotswolds...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A super place to stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

M husband and I stayed at Castellan for 3 days, whilst attending a family event, and then to use as a base for sightseeing around Suffolk. Making the arrangements with Youseph was extremely simple and efficient, and he was very easy to communicate with. The bungalow is set at the bottom of a very quiet cul-de-sac, whilst still being within a few minutes walk of Colchester High St, and all the sights. The property is perfectly laid out, and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need - including fizz glasses! - the beds are very comfortable, and the living room is pleasant to sit in, with a great flat screen TV and DVD player. All in all, it's a really super place to stay, and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect peace, but still close to everything, and very well equipped.
Liked least: The shower is rather weak...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cpezet
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
“The accommodation was excellent and the owner very accommodating”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The place was very clean, functional wifi, heating and hot water all top notch. I would definitely recomend

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Abb...
Granby, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We recently stayed at the Castellan for 6 weeks while working in the UK. Everything about the home was just fantastic - the location is ideal (truly a 3-minute walk from High Street and under 5 minutes to Colchester Castle and the beautiful Castle Park), and the house itself perfectly met our needs with lots of space and great amenities! The landlord and his wife were also incredibly kind and helpful throughout our stay. We hope to make another trip to Colchester in the future and would absolutely stay here again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloAitken
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, perfect location!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Castellan, a very clean, cosy and comfortable property, with everything you could possibly need. The owner was very friendly and helpful when he showed us around - the bottle of bubbly was a lovely touch and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely return, having family to visit in Colchester it is just so handy, 2 minutes walk to the High Street! Definitely recommend this place! So quiet as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the town, warm, clean, cosy, parking for at least 2 cars
Liked least: Water pressure was not great, but didn't cause any real problem for us!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balikins
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a home from home”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We enjoyed our stay over Christmas in this lovely house. It is very well equipped and very clean absolutely nothing missing. It is in a great location only a few minutes walk to the shops and local attractions.Colchester is a great town with lots of things to do. Youseph the owner is a real gentleman very helpful. We will certaily come back. We highly reccomend this accommodation.
The Vincent Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to go.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S
1 review
“Great time at Castellan”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my partner spent 8 nights at Castellan. As soon as we arrived I was warmly welcomed by Youseph. He shown me over the flat and I must admit he is very friendly and helpful, also he was very flexible with the check in time which I am very grateful. In the fridge we found a champagne and the kitchen was well equipted. The flat was really tidy and clean. The area is very quite but at the same time very close to city center. We enjoyed our time very much and we will come back soon ;)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S7v7n
1 review
“Excelent”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Very clean and beautiful place. I will come back every time. Go and spend your holliday at this place. Is perfect for family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing