We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, amazing location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hope Cottage

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Courtyard Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Living room
Courtyard
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen window
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Castle Road
Castle
Castle Park Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, amazing location”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We (me+partner+toddler) stayed in this lovely cottage for a weekend earlier in the month. The place is furnished and decorated to the highest standard and is really comfortable too. Fantastic location as well - the street has a friendly village feel, tucked just inside the roman wall at the edge of the park - but it's just 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 20 min from the station. Very classy!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaStut...
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Exceeding all our expectations”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very cosy, very quaint, quiet but within walking distance to the town centre and the castle park. Very "English". We were made very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt instantly
Liked least: Best for a couple to share the comfy bed in the bedroom. I stayed with my grown-up daughter and the pull-out bed downstairs is not sooo comfortable.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto B
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
“Perfect location, great accommodation”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in Colchester for one week in this lovely cottage. It was very comfortable. The beds, furniture, kitchen are all in excellent condition and the little garden at the front was lovely for relaxing in the evening. The bathroom has got a lovely big shower and bath... Perfect after long days walking, admiring the lovely sights in and around Colchester. We just had one rainy day, but staying in the cottage with a book with the easy to operate gas fire in the living room gave us an chance to recharge our batteries!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_L_Vi...
Zaragoza, Spain
1 review
“Cute and peaceful”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We are a Spanish couple who enjoyed a week in this splendid little cottage. Located five minutes from downtown, across the lovely park. In addition, it is equipped with everything you could need and full of details and good taste. Perfect holiday, thank you very much, Patsie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Con mi pareja
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena B
Vignola, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully comfortable Victorian cottage in a peaceful road in the heart of Colchester”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely cottage is just as described, 2 minutes walk from Colchester's historic town center, shops, park and castle yet in a nice, quiet road. The cottage is beautifully restored with period fireplaces (gas - very simple to operate) comfortable sofas, well-equipped kitchen, a lovely comfortable Victorian bed, a bathroom with walk-in shower and a nice, big bath. We went in the spring and the cottage was nice and cosy in the evening, and we often ate lunch in the beautiful sunny patio garden or had a picnic in the park. The lady who runs the cottages (she has another bigger house in the same road) met us when we arrived and was very kind and helpful. We highly recommend a holiday here and hope to return soon! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing