We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do people expect?!!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed here, yes it's seen better days but ie's a very old building and something about the slopey floors was quite endearing! Most importantly our room was clean and the staff were great, extremely accomodating and helpful-lovely breakfast. For the money you can just not complain!! I possibley wouldn't use the hotel for a family ho;iday but for a few nights with friends it was spot on.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 189 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were looking for somewhere cheap in Colchester for one night and I booked this on the internet based on the price. When we arrived it looked shabby from the outside and unfortunately got even worse inside. If it wasn't for the fact that they stated if you cancel within 7 days you'll still be charged, I would have walked back out as quick as possible. The young guy behind the desk was very nice and took us up to the room. When he opened the door at the top of the stairs, the smell of sewage was horrible. The room wasn't very clean although the bedding was fresh but there was no mattress cover and the mattress was very lumpy. The en-suite had a smelly shower, a tiny basin and a toilet that had seen better days. Drab old fashioned dirty nets and thin dodgy curtains completed the decor.
We weren't looking forward to breakfast the next morning but it was surprisingly ok. The two women serving/cooking were very nice and the food was acceptable.
Everything is very run down, shabby and needing a little TLC. All the lights in the bar/breakfast area had energy saver bulbs and no shades. There are lots of little things the owners could do that wouldn't cost much but would make a huge difference.
If you don't mind staying in a doss house then you'll probably find this ok but spend the extra £10 and stay in a proper B&B or hotel. We wish we had.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beehiveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Having booked an overnight stay by phone and given them credit card details a week before arrival was forced to cancel 24hrs before due date. Told over phone that there was a 7 day cancellation policy and would have to pay in full if they couldn't relet the room (this conveniently wasn't mentioned when booking made). Thought this was a bit much but accepted it and requested they let me know if a charge would definately be made.
Heard nothing from them so decided to call bank only to be told that they took the money on the day I booked.
It's not the money it's the principle.
Definately won't consider a stay here in the future.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bedroom, bathroom, towels and bedding all clean, beds comfy and everything worked. Room was warm though we did have to remind them one evening as the heating had gone off. Freeview TV and kettle with tea/coffee-making stuff but otherwise little in the way of extras - no biscuits or bottled water and no shampoo etc. Main road outside surprisingly very quiet even on a Saturday night.
Breakfast was basic; cornflakes/Weetabix/toast and no variation on full English other than adding tomato and beans. Cheapest sausages I've had for a long time. Very restricted serving times.
No evening meals (in fact the place seems deserted in the evening, with just a phone to contact staff, so you can't ask for advice about where to go) but numerous chain and independent restaurants in town, including several on the way up the hill only a few minutes walk away. If you prefer there's quite a big late-night convenience shop and a pizza take-away across the road.
The small car park seems to be abused by local residents so may be full before you get there.
I'd probably pay a bit more next time and go elsewhere, and the breakfasts would be very boring for more than a couple of days. Sometimes you get lucky at this sort of price and find a gem, but other times you get what you pay for and this was adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed one night in this hotel before Christmas. On first impressions we thought it was ok even if the cleanliness of the room was a bit to be desired but would do for just a night. When we came back from our evening out and pulled the bedding back the sheets hadnt been changed from the previous guest. There was a huge yellow stain on the white sheet and the bed smelled really bad. On check out we complained and asked to speak to someone about this, a member of staff checked the bed and said to email our complaint which i have done a few times now and they have failed to get back to me. There are better hotels than this in collie for less money

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DADDAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Having read reviews of the hotel (after I had booked) on here, I wasn't of the opinion that my stay would be fantastic. However, I have nothing to complain about. The room and bathroom was clean, the bed was fine, and the included full english breakfast was good aswell. For £55 I wouldn't knock much about this hotel. It could do with a refurbishment, yes, but considering it is the cheapest hotel I found in Colchester it was not a bad night at all.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RareReviewer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is the worst hotel / B & B my husband & I have ever stayed in. We arrived early so didn't expect our room to be ready. We were asked to come back which we were happy to do. But when we did an hour after we were expected, the staff weren't sure if our room was ready. Our room was pocky, dark and dirty. When you sat on the loo your head was in the sink and I'm not a big lady. The shower was dirty. When we arrived for breakfast which was within the time we were told, we were given a funny comment of ' ok you've arrived' although the guest who arrived 15mins after was greeted differently. When the milk ran out on the communial table for tea, I had to follow the staff member into the kitchen and was told we shouln't be too long as they were having the restuarant cleaned later. we were not made to feel welcome and couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon5359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#20 of 23 in Colchester
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 2 North Station Road, Colchester CO1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range: $75 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing