We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse Brasserie - CLOSED

The Glasshouse Brasserie
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A big group of us came here for our friends birthday and we had a great time. We're a mix of vegetarians and meat eaters and we all found something delicious to eat, portions are huge so they wrapped our leftovers up for us which was a nice touch. Our waiter was lovely, very attentive and couldn't do enough for us, thank you for an amazing night. Will be back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    7
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food shame about the rest!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went Saturday the 15 th February walked in and and waiter took us to our table and gave us our menu's . There was no atmosphere at all, music so low you could not here it. Took 15 mins for the waiter to come back and ask for drinks I think he was the only waiter on that night but he was very nice and was trying to sever all the other tables on his own . There was a female working too but it looked like she did not know what she was doing or how to take food out all she was doing was going back and forth But the food we had was lovely I had duck and for once it was served pink and my wife had the sea bass both meal were lovely very nice duck. as were starters . I felt sorry for the waiter as he was running around all over the place . I shall come here next time with more ppl as the food was lovely. But I hope you get more staff to help out the poor waiter . As for the rest of it not good you got let down on waitress and the time it took to take food order and drinks and atmosphere more staff would be good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bllly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food and poor atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went on valentines and when we turned up there were only three other tables occupied (was a bit worrying)! No atmosphere as it's a very big building, there was no music and hardly any people.
We then were given the menu (a special one for valentines which was unavailable prior to the night) which was very uninspiring! Starters were average, had steaks for main which we're quite tasteless (and we're only allowed to have them medium-rare) and the chips were poor as was the jus (which seemed like gravy). Overall none of the courses were above poor, very disappointing. Service was awful as the front of house/waitress seemed to be completely clueless as to where tables were and who had ordered what- it was a regular occurrence throughout the evening of them carrying around plates of food not knowing where to go.
Very disappointed and would not return which is a shame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Dinner visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a mid week evening, booking quite late. On arrival, a warm welcome by the friendly staff however the restaurant was pretty empty, especially for such a big premises.

The food was tasty and filling, also reasonably priced using the 50% voucher distributed via email, a place I would definitely return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank legend187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Works Christmas Party.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I booked this restaurant based on the reviews I had read. I booked for a party of 9 on 13th Dec so very near to Christmas. The restaurant had absolutely no Xmas decorations up at all not even a Xmas tree no table crackers nothing!!! Big disappointment considering they are advertising a Christmas Menu!!!!
There was a singer present who sang too loudly and sang some very odd sad songs considering the time of the year quite depressing really and not entertaining at all. The place was less than half full for which a Friday night is not a good sign. I have to say the food was lovely no complaints there though we did have to ask the waiting staff twice for extra gravy and when the coffees arrived they were all lukewarm so all had to be redone also they managed to get all the drink order wrong so all in all the service was not good,and to top it all we paid a service charge of £35 as there were more than six in the party.
As we left my friend noticed in the cloakroom boxes of crackers I assume for Xmas so why weren't they out on the tables?? We usually go to Mimosa's in Colchester but thought we would try somewhere different this year but we will not be back. If this venue wants to succeed especially given where it is located it needs to take a leaf out of Mimosa's book where the atmosphere is lively the place is beautifully decorated and looks like Christmas the staff are attentive and the food is amazing. Overall extremely disappointed and only gave 3 stars for food and nothing else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Brasserie also viewed

 
Frating, Colchester
Dedham, Colchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing