We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The frying castle

The frying castle
Ranked #34 of 475 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my family have just moved back to colchester and this is the only chippy we.
Friendly staff,excellent portions and the best fish and chips ever to take away or to eat in it is the best in town

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    21
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish n Chips in Colchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love this place and keep coming back it is awesome. Clean environment, friendly and welcoming staff. The food is fresh, crisp and tastes of fish and chips which is what you want when you order fish and chips.

I must say I get really fed up when I go to a chippy and they can't be bothered to change the oil, so you get that overly greasy, overly used flavour. None of that nonsense here. If you want fish and chips this is the only place worth visiting in Colchester.

Well done guys keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MIQ1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Need I say more...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

i visited The Frying Castle in Short Wyre Street, Colchester when it first opened. Today I called in for what I knew would be excellent fish and chips and service to match. Nothing has changed. The food is freshly prepared and tasty ++ and the staff are welcoming and friendly. When I arrived the young lady was cleaning tables. The restaurant is maintained in a very clean condition and the wc is also maintained to a high standard. //The eating experience is good. The hard working Manager is a delightful individual who is always happy to stop and chat. His staff are aware and also ready to pass the time of day.// Of particular note - the chips are 'real'!! They are made from peeled potatoes within the restaurant, no frozen stuff. Fish is also fried fresh - I have seen it being transported prior to frying from where it is stored.// So,a combination of tasty food, hygienic conditions and a warm welcome to the customer make this an outstanding fish and chip experience. I would recommend any visitor to the town to come along and sample the food, the atmosphere and the welcome in The Frying Castle. Its popularity - as indicated in other reviews - is a testament to the hard work and dedication of its Manager and staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, quick and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staff were very friendly. Service was quick and the food, nice size portions and didn't take long to be cooked. Was very impressed with the cleanliness especially the toilet. Would definitely eat in there again and recommended to anyone who likes a good cheap meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sueboz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I can't believe a place like this exists xD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I come here at LEAST once a week and it never fails to disappoint. The boss is awesome and the prices are so low when compared to what you get it sounds too good to be true :D seriously, you have to try this place as tbh before I came here I didn't really like fish and chips but now I'm a hardcore fan!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Yellowflay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The frying castle also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The frying castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing