We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The frying castle”
Review of The frying castle

The frying castle
Ranked #57 of 482 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Elblag, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The frying castle”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I would like to recommend The Frying Castle. When I was vising the castle in Colchester I was up for something to eat. Firstly, I thought that The Frying Castle was just one of many fast food shops, but I couldn't have been more mistaken. The Frying Castle is a fantastic restaurant with delicious fish and chips. Fresh fish tasted like heaven in my mouth. Chips I was eating with great pleasure. Service is very friendly. In the restaurant you can feel a pleasant ambience. I came back to The Frying Castle for dinner. I had heard that The Frying Castle is famous for burgers. I don't like tomatoes, so I got a burger without tomato and it wasn't a problem at all. Mr. Alex prepared my burger in front of my eyes - I could see that every ingredient of my burger was fresh. However, the biggest WOW for me was battered MARS bar. I have never heard of it in Poland and it just amazed me as it is a fantastic idea for dessert.
I think that restaurant The Frying Castle is for everyone - for children, students, family...
Give it a try, you will enjoy having a meal there..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Ariadna92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    22
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reda, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the best restaurant!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would highly recommend visiting this restaurant to anyone who wants to enjoy his meal. The food is freshly cooked and absolutely delicious. Not only is the fish super tasty but also burgers are just perfect, the best I’ve eaten. If you are somewhere near Colchester, you just have to give this restaurant a try as you won’t regret it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Ika_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food, magical quality”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we have been eating here a lot and have enjoyed every bit of food we had , the quality is amazing and the staff are ever soo friendly, we just cant wait to go back and have another mouth watering crispy cod with some crispy gold chips! #lovefood #lovefryingcastel

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank robibobi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding chippy”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I go to this chippy quite. A bit it is brilliant excellent customer service fresh fish and chips cooked whilst you wait very clean atmosphere.. Recommended to anyone!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm not surprise seeing all these nice words about Frying Castle ...
My husband and I are regular customers at this chip shop since September , last year. Every time we meet with the courteous and friendly service and the owner is quite chatty.
They have an extence menu for take away and eat in ,plus ,we can find the typical English Breakfast here !! 
Portion sizes are great, specially for the price and the batter wich they use for the fish is just amazing !!!
I would highly recommend this place, there should be more service like that all around the world !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Corsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The frying castle also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The frying castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing