We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Colchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baye House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baye House
Ranked #15 of 41 Colchester B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Colchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I'm just sorry it's taken me so long to get around to writing this review after I promised Annie I would do it this summer. We stayed at Middlemill Cottage for just one night in early August of 2013 and I wish we could have stayed longer. We were traveling with our little one -- 11 months old at the time -- and Annie could not have been more welcoming and kind, letting us use the cozy kitchen area to feed her and just generally being friendly and fun; she even brought out a little rocking horse which our daughter just adored. Our room was lovely and quirky (with just enough room to squeeze our travel crib in) and the bed (for the grownups) was extremely comfortable. Things did get a bit loud in the evening as the house fronts the park, it was a Friday night, and people (read: somewhat drunken people) were coming home from the pub -- but we really didn't mind and it didn't go on for long. The location across from Colchester's main park was wonderful too -- we spent much more time there the next morning than we had intended to before driving to our next destination since, honestly, we've never seen a better set of children's playgrounds (3 of them! plus a fun fair that happened to be going on!) anywhere. If I ever have a reason to be back in Colchester, I would certainly stay with Annie at Middlemill again.

Room Tip: All the rooms (just 4 of them) are extremely cute (yes, I peeked). The two front rooms face the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhcorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really great place to stay in Colchester. Clean, characterful, quiet, central location, friendly, excellent value. We had a difficult journey and the owner Annie was really helpful and welcoming when we arrived. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the park with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueshoeslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Middle Mill. The rooms are full of character. I had a lovely view at Castle Park. Annie was very friendly and generous. Colchester is beautiful. Worth a visit and make sure you stay at Middel Mill!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The city of Colchester was pretty, full of any kind of shops and restaurants we wished for. People, here, were friendly too. Middlemill is very well situated, in a quiet cul-de-sac across the road from a beautiful park but very close to the town centre.The view from the window of our tiny cottage room was amazing, especially on a snowy day, right in front of a beautiful blossom! We slept well and loved the room decor and atmosphere. Annie was friendly, helpful and discreet and, should we need to stay in Colchester again, we would happily go back to her charming cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiDario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Middlemill - just a short walk from town and yet in a very quiet location - very close to a lovely park. A fascinating house full of character. I had an absolutely beautifully presented room - which showed that so much care had gone into it - and amazing value for money. Annie was so friendly and greeted me warmly - and bent over backwards to be helpful and make my stay really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and i stayed here while visiting friends and had a very pleasant experience. The location is fantastic - next to the park and a short walk into town. Our room was lovely - very comfortable and clean and with beautiful decor. The building is very old with lots of character and interesting history. We had a view of the park which was lovely to wake up to in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibs900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baye House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baye House

Property: Baye House
Address: 62 West Stockwell Street, Colchester CO1 1HE, England (Formerly Middlemill Cottage)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this ancient town a warm welcome awaits at this historic Georgian property ov only steps from the shops, restaurants, castle, pool/leisure centre. Tranquil and characterful rooms have wifi, TV and tea/coffee facilities. Close to main line station and buses. On street parking available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baye House Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing