We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value travel zoo voucher”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peldon Rose

The Peldon Rose
Reserve with OpenTable
The Peldon Rose is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 477 Restaurants in Colchester
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Due to reposession, there will be no Alcohol until June 1st The famous Sunday roasts are back, and so too are the original owners who ran the pub from 1999 Standing for well over 700 years The Peldon Rose provides great food and service in traditional surroundings. Local, seasonal produce is used to create a menu which blends British favourites with international cuisine. The perfect destination for a casual lunch or that special occasion dinner, here's to another 700 years of hospitality!
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value travel zoo voucher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent food and service from quite a small menu. Surprised that there was no complementary bread. The food was cooked really well perfect lamb just pink. The presentation was excellent. The large conservatory restaurant lacked atmosphere as it was almost empty but it was a Thursday and we were unable to go on a Friday because it was fully booked. Great experience and value on a travel zoo voucher.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    77
    44
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Food at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

4 of us ate here last night. We were met at the door and introduced by the manager to our "waiter for the evening" who showed us to our table in the restaurant. We had chosen to eat in the conservatory, and although the temperatures outside were sub zero, yet the conservatory was nice and warm. The menu was varied and the food was good. I had a crab and prawn starter followed by a very succulent duck leg on which there was plenty of meat and cooked to perfection.
The vegetables were nice and firm, fresh and crisp (not the soggy bulk cooked type). The deserts were not to be missed! The service was excellent and friendly. Toilets were modern and spotless.
We paid £100 for 4 of us, for drinks and three courses each. Good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took my wife and mother for lunch having read favourable reviews, what a mistake. This has to be the worst lunch ever. The Sunday beef roast consisted of uncooked remnants of a joint mainly fat and grizzle, the vegetables were raw, it was impossible to cut through the cauliflower, the meagre portion of roast potatoes were so over cooked they were rock solid and the yorkshire pudding was cold. We complained and were offered complimentary desserts. This took ages to arrive presumably because we had the audacity to complain. Had it not been a 'treat' for my mother who is 88 yrs old we would have refused to pay but instead paid £61 for this rubbish, never again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 666rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Most enjoyable evening. Food and service very good.
Well worth a visit. We used a travelzoo voucher which made this evening exceptional value for money as we could choose anything from the al la carte menu.
We would go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for parties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

As a birthday treat I gathered my nearest and dearest at the Peldon Rose for a Sunday luncheon. I'd booked for 12, but they easily accommodated the few extra guests who turned up on the day which is no mean feat as they were also catering for another large party at the same time.

The Sunday lunch menu was more than just roast dinner and a good selection of mouthwatering starters and fishy mains were also on offer, as was a good kids menu available. All in all they did their best to cater for all our eclectic tastes. There were certainly no complaints about the food and clean plates were returned by all. Portions were definitely in proportion.

The main restaurant is light and airy and we were well looked after by the staff. I cannot fault the quality of the food or service. This is the second time I'd eaten at the restaurant - having taken my dad there for his 80th birthday last year - and once again I was not disappointed.

The Sunday menu offered 1 course for £11, 2 for £16 and 3 for £21. I might have queried why cheese & biscuits warranted a £2 surcharge, but all in all it's good value for the quality of the food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peldon Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Peldon Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing