We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinctly Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbers

Timbers
Ranked #24 of 465 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Simon, Ali and the team would like to welcome you to "timbers" our family run restaurant set in a gorgeous 400 year old timber framed building in the historic centre of Colchester. We offer well cooked quality food from our famous breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients, such as Proctors award winning sausages, local farm free range eggs, to our home made versions of world renowned classics. Great Coffees and teas or maybe something a little stronger are all available to wash it all down with! We believe that if we can serve you the best meals, by the friendliest staff, then you will be more than happy to come back and recommend us to all your friends.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Popped in for lunch recently. The restaurant seemed appealing from the outside, but we found the meal to be only acceptable.
Our table was rather sticky for some reason, and the toilets were extremely cold. The service was very good but the food left a little to be desired. Like an earlier reviewer, we found the chips to be pretty rubbish - more like the sort of the thing one would expect from a school dinner. My partner did quite enjoy her meal, but the rest of mine was quite lacklustre.

Well priced though.

Wont be rushing back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morethansonglyrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Firstly thank you for visiting timbers. Its a great shame you have rated us as distinctly average as we strive to achieve much better than that at all times. We have one previous comment on, the colour of our chips, and since then have been monitoring this very closely and we believe we have cracked this issue. Its a shame that on this occasion however, they appear to of not tasted to your personal liking. Great to see that your partner did quite enjoy their meal, if I knew exactly what the issue was with yours I would certainly try to improve this,in time for any potential re-visit. great you noted that the service was very good, thank you, we shall pass this on to the front of house team. Many thanks once again for visiting and taking the time to review timbers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    52
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
badbadesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great breakfast . Best in Colchester town. Friendly service with a smile. Nice and clean . Fast service. Very good choice on menu . Comfortable . My wife felt it was a bit cold in there but it was a very cold day . Food was not greasy and breakfast was very tasty and great value

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank badbadeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
On behalf of the team at timbers Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We're really glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, and are pleased the service from the team met your expectations. As regards your comments over the heating, we are currently going through some re-decoration and have to plan to add more heating as soon as this is complete, so, hopefully, next visit, it will be a bit warmer for you, and a little cosier too. Many thanks once again for your review, and your custom. Ali and Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem of a cafe/Restaraunt.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

On trinity street Colchester is this gem of a family run cafe/restaurant set in a beautiful Tudor building with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

We went for brunch at 12:30 on a Saturday last and it was obvious on entering how popular a dining spot it is. We were seated quickly and the staff we're attentive and polite from the offset.

While we ordered our drinks the staff advised us that there would be a wait on food due to the large volume of customers. On pursing the menus we were overwhelmed by the amount of choice. The food came inside the time we were advised and after a slight problem with my partners order which was rectified quickly and with much apology we enjoyed our lunch. The food is good honest homely cooking which will leave you satisfied. Just don't expect haute cuisine.

If I was to offer any advice It would be to suggest better signage from the street, the removal of the chalk boards from in front of the cafe, reduce the content of the menus to allow the chefs to specialise a little more and the decor could use a little touch up.

Having said that I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again and hope to enjoy many a lazy lunch there in the future. Ideal meeting spot for friends and family for an inexpensive lunch.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colchesterduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Can I start by saying many thanks for taking the time to visit and review timbers. We are very grateful for the constructive criticsm and we can confirm "the touch ups" of paint are being taken care of in the next two weeks, we already have a decorator booked in. In addition, the signage,- we have looked into adding better signage recently and will be installing this by end March. As regards the menu and food, so pleased you like the range on offer, and the homely way we present it. We look forward to welcoming you back for that lazy brunch you spoke about very soon! many thanks, Simon and Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb in 20 minutes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Timbers for lunch on a Saturday and thankfully we had booked! Jess had people queuing around the block for tables and everyone was told they could be seated in 20 minutes and from what we saw, they were! She is a star ;-)
The staff are so friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. The menu is extensive and exceptionally well priced, there really is something for everyone. I had the Steak and Kidney pie with the puff pastry Top Hat, there was plenty of meat in the pie, well cooked and very tasty. For me, the puff pastry lid was a little too big and I would have liked thicker gravy but this did not detract from my enjoyment of the food. My husband had the half rack of ribs and he polished the plate! Thank you for another lovely lunch, we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
This has given me a problem! Jess will never get her head out of timbers door now! However, we'll cope with that.! Can I just say on behalf of the team and I, thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed lunch with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. As regards the gravy, we will discuss with the kitchen team and try and get that perfect for you in future. Many thanks again, Simon and Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greasy Breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice cafe, but the breakfast was really greasy, it tasted like everything had been fried, not very nice!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon m, Owner at Timbers, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Paul B.
Im very dissapointed and suprised to see you rated timbers as poor.
In truth, as most of the items in our breakfasts are grilled, or toasted (which only leaves two- hash browns and fried egg, if that is how you choose your eggs) I do question the authenticity of your review. Either way thank you for visiting timbers, and it is a shame we couldnt meet the standard you expected. Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbers also viewed

Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Timbers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing