We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big enough to not get bored ”
Review of Go Bananas

Go Bananas
Ranked #2 of 17 Fun & Games in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Go Bananas is one of the largest indoor adventure play centres in the South East of England with over 20 years of experience in entertaining children and Adults. Based in Colchester, Essex, Go Bananas have everything you need to entertain the young and old alike. Fun the weather cannot spoil! The Aztec Adventure area is an extensive 3 storey climbing frame for the over 5s. Here children can have an amazing adventure exploring the home of our mascot George Funky Monkey. Whether you want to swing like Tarzan to jump the stepping stones to avoid the crocodile water, our Aztec Adventure Frame has something for everyone. Tiny Town is a safe environment for those young adventurers that are aged 4 and under. Parents can train these young Indiana Jones’ on a smaller version of our Aztec Adventure area. Children can play the piano or pop the balloons in our interactive EyeToy zone, dance the day away in Dora's Disco or bounce around on our separated mini trampolines, all under the watchful eyes of their parents For the REALLY brave amongst you, The Wall is there to be conquered!! The Wall is a 6 meter cliff face at the edge of the Aztec Adventure area which leads to Funky Monkey’s alarm. Can you sound the alarm and wake the Aztec Adventure’s funkiest resident?!?! As well as providing a safe and fun environment for children to play, we are also the ideal venue for parties. Go Bananas has a wide choice of parties that can make any child’s special day, even more special. The added bonus is that you don’t have to clean up afterwards!! For those unlucky enough to be too old to play in the Aztec Adventure, we also have an extensive seating area and the Bananas cafe; which offers a wide range of food and drinks, there are healthy options always available and some sweet treats too. Though if you really want to play and find your inner child, Go Bananas offers Adult, Laser and Junior Mega Parties; perfect for a get together with friends, team building and hen/stag parties, offering you exclusive hire of the centre. For organised groups such as Scouts and Brownies we also offer the ultimate sleepover experience, contact our reception for more information. We offer an after school meal deal Monday to Friday (Term Time Only) for £2.00 giving you any meal from our children's menu along with a cup of squash. If you visit us on Monday mornings (Term Time Only) before 12pm, you can take advantage of our parent and toddler offer with each adult receiving a complimentary hot drink and each child receiving a complimentary cup of squash and biscuit. Please note our admission prices are: Adults and children under 6 months: FREE Children aged 6 months plus and crawlers: £1.50 Children who walk and are aged up to 4 years: £5.00 Children aged 5 to 12 years: £6.00
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big enough to not get bored ”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My daughter is 9 and still loves go bananas, great that the big frame is separated by a gate to the under 4's area so as not to worry about the big kids wiping out the little ones !! The new giant ball balance area at the back of the frame was a real hit with her and her friend, price to get in is really reasonable considering the size of the play areas we were there for over 3 hours and not even a whisper of " I am bored " !! Thanks go bananas great to have somewhere in the winter apart from swimming or the expensive cinema that my daughter has not grown out of yet

Helpful?
Thank Alison555550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas. It's great to hear that your daughter enjoys coming to play in the centre and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    25
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walton on naze
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun! ”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My kids adore this play center. Very large, two areas-one for older kids and one for younger ones/babies. This includes push along cars and a small bouncy castle. The place also has a upstairs shop-this specialises in wooden toys and is quite expensive. The food is ok, abit pricey for what u get.

Helpful?
Thank bubble_fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas. We are pleased that you and your children enjoy coming here.
Our Go Bananas Cafe constantly tries to offer a wide variety of food at varying prices, but on your next visit, if you feel the portion sizes could be improved, please do feel free to speak to the Cafe staff to rectify any issues.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you in the centre again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kids love this place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I enjoy coming here with my children it had separate areas for younger children and a more exerting area for the over 5s with a climbing wall for the children who wish to have a go at an extra cost of a pound which I find Ok. The only area where I can complain is that the role of not letting older children in to the young area can be a little silly as my daughter of 7 was kicked out quite rudely by the staff even though I was there and she was playing with her younger brother who was 4. I left with a full refund

Finally worth a trip if it's raining and you are stuck with something to do for the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
Firstly, we are very glad that your children enjoy coming to Go Bananas and having lots of fun. We work hard to ensure there is lots of toys and equipment to keep children of all ages entertained, so it is good to hear you feel there is something for everyone.
Unfortunately we have the rule of age restrictions for our two play areas of Tiny Town and Jungle Adventure in place so that we can ensure maximum safety for all children playing in the centre. Whilst some children who are over 5 are aware of the younger children and more careful, there are those that can get a bit carried away. It is therefore necessary to have the rule for all children and cannot make exceptions for some one day and then not some other children; as this would be unfair.
We sincerely apologise if you feel your daughter could have been asked to play in the older area in a better way and hope that the refund given was to your satisfaction. We train our staff to be as professional as possible and hope that you made the management team aware of this; so we could discuss the matter with the staff concerned on the day of your visit.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Go Bananas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun for the kids!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is THE place to take the children, they will have so much fun here! The birthday parties are always fun too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPE31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
We are pleased that you enjoy visiting the centre as our team work hard to ensure that both children and adults leave having enjoyed their time at Go Bananas.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kids enjoy it but not the cleanest”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

although this is a very spacious indoor playcentre and the children I have taken always enjoy themselves, the food is expensive and limited to quite unhealthy choices and you are not able to eat your own food here. it smells fusty and is not very clean and they walls and art work could do with freshening up. keeping the children separated for certain age groups works well if monitored. most of the staff are young and look like they should still be in bed!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nikeeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Nikki.
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
We are pleased that your children enjoy visiting Go Bananas and that you find us to be spacious.
Our Go Bananas Cafe does offer a varied menu for both adults and children which we feel contains several healthy options such as salads, jacket potatoes, sandwiches and paninis; however if you have any particular dishes you would like to see on our menu, please do feel free to let us know your suggestions as we do try and cater to everyone's tastes and welcome customer input.
We have a regular cleaning programme in place that is constantly updated to try and ensure that our centre is as clean as possible, though if there are any areas that you feel need particular attention please do let us know so we can look at these areas. Customers have commented to us, particularly in the last few months that they have found the cleanliness of the centre to be of a high standard so hopefully on your next visit, you will also find this to be the case.
During the Summer last year, we updated a lot of our fantastic mural artwork around the centre, in particular our reception area, the spook room, our party disco room and Dora's disco in Tiny Town; so hopefully you will enjoy seeing these painting on your next visit.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you in to the centre again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Bananas also viewed

 

Been to Go Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing