We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Bananas a great day out”
Review of Go Bananas

Go Bananas
Ranked #2 of 17 Fun & Games in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Go Bananas is one of the largest indoor adventure play centres in the South East of England with over 20 years of experience in entertaining children and Adults. Based in Colchester, Essex, Go Bananas have everything you need to entertain the young and old alike. Fun the weather cannot spoil! The Aztec Adventure area is an extensive 3 storey climbing frame for the over 5s. Here children can have an amazing adventure exploring the home of our mascot George Funky Monkey. Whether you want to swing like Tarzan to jump the stepping stones to avoid the crocodile water, our Aztec Adventure Frame has something for everyone. Tiny Town is a safe environment for those young adventurers that are aged 4 and under. Parents can train these young Indiana Jones’ on a smaller version of our Aztec Adventure area. Children can play the piano or pop the balloons in our interactive EyeToy zone, dance the day away in Dora's Disco or bounce around on our separated mini trampolines, all under the watchful eyes of their parents For the REALLY brave amongst you, The Wall is there to be conquered!! The Wall is a 6 meter cliff face at the edge of the Aztec Adventure area which leads to Funky Monkey’s alarm. Can you sound the alarm and wake the Aztec Adventure’s funkiest resident?!?! As well as providing a safe and fun environment for children to play, we are also the ideal venue for parties. Go Bananas has a wide choice of parties that can make any child’s special day, even more special. The added bonus is that you don’t have to clean up afterwards!! For those unlucky enough to be too old to play in the Aztec Adventure, we also have an extensive seating area and the Bananas cafe; which offers a wide range of food and drinks, there are healthy options always available and some sweet treats too. Though if you really want to play and find your inner child, Go Bananas offers Adult, Laser and Junior Mega Parties; perfect for a get together with friends, team building and hen/stag parties, offering you exclusive hire of the centre. For organised groups such as Scouts and Brownies we also offer the ultimate sleepover experience, contact our reception for more information. We offer an after school meal deal Monday to Friday (Term Time Only) for £2.00 giving you any meal from our children's menu along with a cup of squash. If you visit us on Monday mornings (Term Time Only) before 12pm, you can take advantage of our parent and toddler offer with each adult receiving a complimentary hot drink and each child receiving a complimentary cup of squash and biscuit. Please note our admission prices are: Adults and children under 6 months: FREE Children aged 6 months plus and crawlers: £1.50 Children who walk and are aged up to 4 years: £5.00 Children aged 5 to 12 years: £6.00
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go Bananas a great day out”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I took my two children age 8 and 4 and two of their friends to Go Bananas today and had a fantastic time. I have not taken them there for a long time as I thought it had gone down hill a bit although the kids always enjoy it in their. But got to say on today's evidence they have certainly got their act together now. The place has improved in all areas, it is clean and fresh. I noticed it had a new floor in their under 5 section which stood out to me compared to the grubby one they had before and I believe according to my kids new activities to play on. The toilets were clean when I visited them and the food we ordered was good and reasonably priced.
I know the kids enjoyed themselves because I hardly saw them during the time we was in their and so I could continue playing candy crush!!!. I would certainly recommend Go Bananas to other people with kids as a good day out. The staff I encountered were all friendly and the entry price of about £5 is money well spent compared to other attraction in the area.
Well done Go Bananas, we will be coming again. KEEP IT UP THOUGH as you are the best place centre for kids to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Steven,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
We are very pleased that you and your children enjoyed visiting us and that you found it to be improved since a previous visit. Our current management team and staff work hard to try and constantly update and improve the centre to ensure that both adults and children who visit have the best possible experience whilst here. We complete a regular cleaning programme and it was lovely to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you all back to Go Bananas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    25
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“bananas is the word”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

can get very hot in here very noisy as there is a rather high large area for bigger kids to go mad and they do very noisy, prices for drinks and food can get expensive if a lot of you especially as the kids get hot and keep wanting to drink more expensive to get in than the other kids play areas

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank masonic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
Unfortunately due to the nature of our business, the centre is very popular with lots of children and can be incredibly busy at times; particularly on rainy days and at weekends during lunchtime. In the future, if you would prefer to visit at a quieter time; you may find either when we open at 9:30am/10:00am or late afternoon 3:00pm onwards to be better as these tend to be our quieter periods.
We work hard to offer value for money and currently feel that compared to other play centres our prices are competitive and unlike other centres we base our prices to children's play value rather than just age.
We hope that you visit us again soon and enjoy your time whilst at the centre; though if there are any issues or you feel your experience could be better please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely for kids”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

great for birthday parties, good value for money and kids love it. little play area for under 3s. they do food and drinks. only bad point is there aren't always enough tables for the amount of people there are in there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckmh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go_BananasColchester, Manager at Go Bananas, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about Go Bananas.
We are glad that your children enjoyed visiting as we always aim for everyone to have an enjoyable time. We have over 40 tables for people to sit at and we can provide additional seating if required. We tend to be extremely busy during the school holidays, so if you were to attend during this time then we recommend that you come along at either the beginning of the day or towards the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my kids went a couple of months ago and it was slightly busy, which we expected on a rainy day. Its run down, dirty, broken and not changed in years. The staff tried their best but couldn't cope with the amount of people there. There was one member of staff in the kitchen doing everything (didn't seem very hygienic, but I'm no expert) which meant food took ages to come out, some staff did seem less busy though. Menu however has a large selection, basic food and whats expected from a place like this, just a shame they were out of a vast amount of items. Overall it seems like its there as a purely profit based business with no interest in customer experience and would rather go to one of the other two play centers in Colchester.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Needs to be cleaner”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good for toddlers. But really could do with a good clean. Feels sticky every where in play area . tables and floor In the eating areas need a good scrub

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 190735Mandy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Bananas also viewed

 
 

Been to Go Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing