We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”
Review of Naka Thai

Naka Thai
Ranked #44 of 476 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relax and enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in this 300 year old historic Tudor building in Colchester. Although the building has been modernised, it still retains every aspect of its uniqueness and heritage. Our Head Chef, Triphop Thongkraing, was raised and trained in Thailand and has over 25 years experience. His talents are proven through customer enjoyment and appreciation for his cooking ability and innate creativity. This inspires him to maintain the Thai culinary traditions, preparation and presentation in Naka Thai. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, and you can dine assured that no matter what the occasion is you will have a pleasurable dining experience.
Mons, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Good Thai restaurant with a varied menu, excellent presentation and good food. Staff were friendly and efficient and the place looked popular but not too crowded. Smart decor - a good find; highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariner79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    85
    22
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stumbled on here by accident but so glad we did. Walked in to what looked like a small restaurant and was taken upstairs - where there were dozens of tables and it was packed with happy customers!
Had chicken satay and Thai Green Curry - portions just right size and beautifully presented. Staff could not do enough.
Have been back since. A real find - but would advise booking at weekends as it gets very busy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasbri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently excellent, home and away.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've had four Naka Thai experiences and each one has been fantastic; one gets used to standard meals out and takeaways in Colchester so it is refreshing to see a restaurant committed to customer service and obtaining feedback. Not to mention the best Thai food (or food generally) I've had!

I've eaten in twice with Birthday parties, one a group of 19 and the most recent a group of 8; service was good (bar a couple of confused drinks orders) and the atmosphere very welcoming. The manager prides himself on giving a personal touch and likes to make sure everyone is having a great time. This also applies even when ordering the takeaways, both of which were prompt, still hot and excellent value for money.

I cannot fault the food and everyone I've eaten with (30 different people) has said the same. I will never order a chinese or curry again, not when for the same price I can have actual cuisine. Best place to eat in town by some distance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozrunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Brilliant place with extremely friendly staff. We were very well looked after and the food was very tasty. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy an excellent meal in a very friendly environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fjrjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food was excellent very tasty and well presented service was first class the only down side was they had run out of some of the deserts , but that did not spoil the evening, will dine there again and would recommend them to anyone wishing to have a good evening out with friends or family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbatterbatty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naka Thai also viewed

 

Been to Naka Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing