We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbers Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreyFriars(Colchester)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
108
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitspot of teab bperfect hostshome made cakeson arrivaltheir beautiful homelocal butcherbeautifully cooked breakfasthome from homesized bedvisiting the areapeaceful locationlittle toucheslovely coupledressing gownsshower gel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and it was awesome. Alan and Angela were so accommodating, welcoming and friendly. The home was delightful and scrupulously clean and you can see why the reviews are so good. our room was roomy and trouble was taken over the little things, like a luggage rack, home made biscuits and a decanter of sherry. Alan willingly helped us poor misguided Aussies work out sat nav and calmed us after our experience with British roads and roundabouts (horrendous). Also the breakfasts were truly decadent with massive choice and attention to detail. I would return to stay here in preference to any hotel. We can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelaide_girl_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked in at "Timbers" because we couldn't get booked in to a regular hotel. We're not the B&B kind and didn't know what to expect. (However, the photographs gave us a good idea). What we certainly didn't expect was the genuine warm friendly welcome from Angela and Alan and the attention to detail at every turn. There was a vacuum flask of fresh milk and a decanter of sherry with crystal glasses awaiting us in our room. The room was spotlessly clean and the fixtures and fittings all in excellent order. They even supply Gilchrist and Soames toiletries and cotton wool buds and pads. The breakfast was superb and there was a huge choice catering for every breakfast taste. We're looking forward to our stay next year when we return to Colchester. It really is 'home from home'. Thank you Angela and Alan x

Room Tip: Select any of the rooms, every one is outstanding.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyandJohn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Timbers last year, and were completely blown away with the overall excellence of this B&B. We have just returned to Canada after our second stay, and the standards are still excellent!
Alan and Angela are extremely professional and friendly, and the rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and guest friendly in every way. The breakfast menu is fabulous and the food is professionally and carefully prepared. My wife has Celiac disease and Alan even bought gluten free sausages from a local butcher especially for her. Timbers is well situated for travelling the area, and the garden is beautiful.
This is absolutely the best B&B we have ever stayed in and the rates are very reasonable for a place of this quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allank336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!

I think everything has already been said by previous reviewers but if you are thinking of staying in the colchester area, look no further.

Alan and Angela could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was super and the breakfast great. We will certainly be back when next in the Essex/Suffolk area.

Carol and John

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed on 9th May en route to Suffolk having looked at tripadvisor for places in the area.
Although they are self assessed at 4 star, definitely 5 star standard with very good en-suite room including everything you`d normally expect and a decanter of sherry, ground coffee, home made biscuits, dressing gowns, good toiletries etc., very comfortable bed and most important of all , really clean and up-together .
They were full the night we were there and we were the last down for breakfast but commented on how very quiet the house was.
Alan gave us a lift to the Treble Tile for supper ,which Angela had recommended when we booked the room , and that was really good . We taxied back and had one of the best breakfasts we can remember having when away.(including fresh fruit, home made jams/marmalade, breads
proper sausages and so on .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeChris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews