We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was difficult to find (not their fault), and had limited parking. My colleague had to park on a residential street about 5 minuteswalk away then move it later when space became available. Not ideal.

One guy behind the bar (Toni) was very helpful and attentive, however, the other waitresses were rude and appeared to be annoyed at having to serve you.

The food was very average.

The ceiling height on the rooms is far too low to ensure a comfortable stay - and I'm not tall!

I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 477 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good breakfast, and several examples of first-class service. Handy to be right over the pub for a nightcap.
Room was pretty tight for a family, but we were a late booking, and they moved us as soon
as they could.
We were here 3 nights, so got a pretty good idea of the establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fender_Jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has some great character and history, first impressions were good. Stayed in room 202, mind your head going in, the ceiling was about 5 ft high by the door, which I thought was great even though I am 6 ft+. The room was small but adequate in size and the bed a standard double was comfortable. The toilet and shower looked immaculate...however the water pressure is totally inadequate making the shower a mere dribble, a real let down.
The bar was pleasant and all of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyg9053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our two children, 8 and 1, the room was plenty big enough, and had some great facilities. The food was absoutely delicious, and probably some of the best we have ever eaten. The only downside to the hotel was that our room was near to the main road and it was very very noisy, however as we were only there one night , it wasnt really a problem.

Room Tip: dont choose 126 by the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We had a room in the old part of the hotel. The room was very cozy and cute. There was a stone fire place (only for show).

The hotel staff were very friendly and nice. There was a wedding going on but Kevin (reception) told us that this would not go on past 11:30 and I did not hear them at all despite being practically above the bar.

The only recommendation I would give to guests is, if you are above 6 foot in height, I would not stay in the old part of the hotel. My boyfriend is 6" and I am 5"9 and his head was practically touching the ceiling. We did tend to walk around kind of hunched so that we would not hit our heads but for one night that's ok.

The breakfast was also quite tasty and they had the continental breakfast part has a buffet and the hot stuff is ordered separately.

Room Tip: If you are 6" and above do not stay in the old part of the hotel or your head will head the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst meeting up with a group of friends. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

The building has great character. spolt a little by the road outside which, whilst it has plenty of old buildings in it, is a little run down in parts. It's convenient for Colchester and a fifteen minute walk, up hill, takes you to the Castle. Turn right after crossing the bridge and you have a lovely walk along the river to Castle Park.

We were welcomed by Kevin on reception. He was great and gave us information about the hotel's history and a guided tour of the ground floor and the prison in the basement. We had been given a room in the new part of the hotel. After saying that we disappointed that we weren't in the old part he called us back later and offered us a swap to a room in the old part if we wanted it. We decided that we liked the character of the old room and swapped but as Kevin told us the old rooms aren't to everyone's taste. They are much smaller and the one we had didn't have a bath. On the plus side it was away from the road and the road noise and closer to the bar. The new rooms are typical hotel rooms. So if you ask for a room in the old part be aware of what you are likely to get.

The bar and restuarant are lovely. The breakfasts offer a reasonably extensive menu which includes fresh fruit salad, porridge made to order and locally sourced meat for the Full English. We had dinner in the bar and our meals were excellent.

Service throughout was excellent.

Free parking.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and got upgraded to one of the executive rooms in the block opposite. That was perfect as my room was spacious, quiet and had a lovely big shower but 6 strides away was the fabulous old bar and restaurant. Good, well kept beer and really good bar food meant that I didn't stray far afield.
This will be top of my list when I'm next back in Colchester.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the new block opposite the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perlogalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
708 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
146 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
0.7 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#21 of 23 in Colchester
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester

Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range: $80 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing