We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room ok, breakfast far too slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a single room which was small but comfy, I had a very good night's sleep. The following morning I went down for breakfast. When travelling with work I like breakfast to be a quick affair so that I can get on with the day's work. The George cook to order, which is fine, but it was very slow. I waited 30 mins for a basic order, and when it came it was wrong. In the meantime I was offered tea from a teapot which does the rounds of the room, which was very stewed and really not nice.

It would be better to let people help themselves to tea and coffee, or provide a teapot for each table where needed. Breakfast orders need to come out in 10 mins or so.

If I stayed again I would do room only and go out to get a quick breakfast.

I have to mention that the staff in the breakfast room were very friendly and did their best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griangraf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 647 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Despite possible access problems. There is no lift and steep stairs to bedrooms. I decided to book for a weeks stay, because of its superb location in the centre of town
I have a mobility problem, but with occasional help from the great staff, I managed to get around without too much difficulty.

Positives.
Really great helpful and cheerful staff.
Breakfasts, possibly the best I have enjoyed over years of travel. Even at 7am, the staff greeted everyone with a bright comment, and as the food was so enjoyable, a great start to the day.
Bar area. Always busy, yet no problem getting quick
Service.
Negatives.
I had a bedroom at the front of the hotel. On Friday and Saturday night I found it difficult to get to sleep because of talking and shouting in the street below. On Saturday this went on until 3am.
There is an unusual location for electric plug sockets. These are on the floor, under metal plates, at the foot of the bed. Because of this, I did not use the electric kettle provided,
Evening meals in the restaurant were a disappointment. Although to be fair, after an excellent breakfast and outside lunch I didn't feel hungry, and usually settled for a starter and dessert. When I used it early in the evening, there were only two or three other tables in use, so it lacked atmosphere. On two occasions I had a poached pear for dessert. On both times it was undercooked. The second, so hard, I found it difficult to cut into with a spoon.

Would I stay again?
Yes.
A really great helpful staff. Always there when needed.
As I made my slow way up the stairs to the the bedroom, as if by magic, a staff member would appear to give assistance if required.

Would I still choose a room overlooking the High street.
Again yes. But I would avoid if possible, staying at the weekend.
In summary. Great staff, good location and interesting building.



Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise E, General Manager at George Hotel of Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at The George Hotel.

I will certainly pass on your kind comments to my team and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous on entering - a period building with lovely beams & comfy chairs. We checked in on a Sunday & they were serving a carvery roast dinner which smelt great. The receptionist was very friendly when checking us in.
Our room was part of an extension to the original building. The fixtures & fittings were very dated & a bit tired looking. The room was clean in the main but the condition of the room was a bit of a let down after the great entrance. The hotel is on the high street & is a great base for exploring the town & the castle. It could all do with a lick of paint though!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TriniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

On reading the reviews we nearly didnt come to the george.Im glad we did ,yes it is an old hotel and a little in need of some updating,but rooms are clean warm and bright.Staff could not be more helpfull,the breakfast was great and the waitress in the morning was 100% couldnt ask for a nicer person.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getwhatupay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We were going to this hotel as part of a large function, and having read some previous reviews we were a little aprehensive. When we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised!

The hotel is a very old building and as such has lots of stairs but this adds to the charm. The previous reviews slamming the hotel because of this were entirely unfair. If you don't like old buildings, stay elsewhere but don't complain about it! We loved it.

Staff were ultra helpful and delightful, the food was excellent. Great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visit this hotel on a weekly basis, to use the bar area and to have lunch. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We also hosted an event and hired to rooms for a wedding party. The staff we amazing, and the food was fantastic. We had the £10 per head menu and were able to choose dishes we wanted, and there was more than enough food per person, something that was a concern, but my mind was put at rest. We also hired a number of rooms for our guests and we didn't have any issues there either. Louise the lady that helped with our booking did all she could to make it a great event, and the manager Denise was popping in during the set up to make sure we have everything we needed. The main star at the George is Anthony , and what a great guy he is!! Warm and friendly with everyone, I would defiantly recommend the the George to anyone wanting to host a party, or to use its lounge area, as it's comfy , great food

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I were recently in Colchester town centre waiting for our car service to be completed. We have a German Shepherd puppy and consequently found ourselves pretty much barred from every cafe and pub we tried. We were getting cold and hungry so in desperation I walked into the reception of The George and asked whether we were able to come in, fearing another rejection.
"Of course you can! Please come in - does your puppy want a bowl of water?"
What a pleasant surprise!
We were able to sit in a corner near the fire (this was a few weeks ago now!) and order a drink.
The downstairs bar/tea room area was busy and bustling and there was a warm atmosphere.
Eli, our dog, is well behaved and promptly lay at our feet and settled down. In fact he was a bit of a star and a number of hotel guests and visitors in the vat made a fuss of him.
The staff were really friendly and in fact I decided to stay for a bite to eat whilst the missus went and did a bit more shopping.
I can't rate this highly enough if you are looking for a coffee or lunchtime snack and by the looks of the custom the locals already know this. I can't comment on the quality of the rooms as we weren't staying.
Thanks to all and we'll definitely be back! Eli can't wait!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpookyDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#18 of 23 in Colchester
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 23 in Colchester
70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing