We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent one night in the hotel and we're pleasantly surprised with how much character and charm this hotel has. The wooden beams, creaky floorboards and furniture all add to the character of the hotel and make it look very grand. Our room was quite large for a hotel with lots of space and a huge bed (we only booked a standard double and were so surprised by the size of the room). Although the bathroom was a bit small, it had a bath and a shower and lots of lovely complimentary toiletries. Lots of storage in the room for people staying for a while.

Our room was overlooking the high street and to be honest the main road did not create a problem for us. We could barely hear the traffic at all.

The reception staff were very welcoming.

There is free parking and wifi, just ask at reception.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank annabaz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 666 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for new years eve on a fixed price package which included a four course meal. I really couldnt fault the food and service during our meal, tables were well spaced not packed in and had been decorated festively, each course was brought out quickly and was cooked peefectly we were absolutely stuffed full! Entertainment was great too with a mixture of music played. I do have to agree though with some other reviews about the rather eratic quality of service in the hotel itself nothing terrible but things like being ignored by a staff member carrying a clipboard who offered a welcome drink to a couple sat in the lounge to us but ignored us and another couple sat near us just looks rude. No toast with breakfast that we ordered to be brought up to the room and breakfast being 45 mins later than the time we ordered it for. Not big problems but niggly all the same. Downstairs hotel is lovely upstairs I found the room and furnishings very tired looking peeling paint, threadbear carpet and stains on ceiling from a leak at some point. Enjoyed our stay as it was new year but wont be returning again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grly2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The George Hotel for one night after attending a wedding in the town. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The George is a very old hotel at least 500 years. The place has lots of character. Our room was a bit tired and in need of some new paint but was quite spacious and quiet. The bed was a little hard but for us very comfortable. Although feeling a little hung over the cooked breakfast was very nice. There was plenty to choose from. Would we stay here again ? Definitely !

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel. Room 415. It was nice and quiet and overlooks the hotel car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Coming back to the George is like putting on old and comfortable slippers after a hard day's work. The staff are amiable and the lounge bars are full of a cross section of locals - tattoos and twin-sets - and the extra for the executive rooms are worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

As a pub, when you first walk in it was very cosy and when we got to our rooms they were set out in a similar way. Room's were nice, with plenty of storage and the beams were a nice touch. Bathroom wasn't up to the same standard though and was slightly more run down, for instance, very old shower with not much power and no tiles behind the toilet, just a wooden panel that looked like it was halfway through being done up. Breakfast on a morning was ok, staff were very attentive asking if anyone wanted more tea/coffee or if the food was ok. Good selection of cooked breakfast and also fruit, yoghurts, cereal etc. I only had scrambled eggs which weren't the best I've ever had but the room/breakfast was fairly cheap.

Staff on reception were very rude and unfriendly. As it was a business trip, our finance office should've sorted out our payment; it was made on the company credit card so we could'nt bring it with us to pay at the hotel. There was a lot of confusion as our invoice said we'd paid but then they insisted a payment hadn't been made. Whether this was the fault of our company for not allowing the hotel to take the payment straight away or the hotel's for not taking the payment, I do not know. Regardless, the two girls on reception did not handle it very well and were rude with us and acted as if we were being a nuisance when we were doing our best to sort the situation out. In the morning, same girls were on reception and I got no greeting from them even though they looked at me. When we checked out they were confused as to why there was still no payment (they had agreed to ring our finance office that morning)...it was less than 24 hours ago, surely they must remember the situation!

Room's were also far too hot! It was unbearable and several other colleagues, as well as myself, could not sleep despite turning the heating down. The same girls on reception asked how our stay was and when we mentioned it was too hot, rather than saying they'd take the comments on board they replied in a rude manner saying they needed it on as it was winter. If it's too hot your customers can't sleep (which sleeping is the main reason most people stay in a hotel) you're doing something wrong!

I probably would stay here again if it was for another business trip, but based on the reception I wouldn't for any other occasion.

Room Tip: I had a room by the road side and had no trouble sleeping because of that, it was just the heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlarghBlargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and found the hotel very welcoming and safe for female travellers. The hotel was busy at all times with more staff on hand for advice etc than I have seen in most hotels. The lounges were full to overflowing during "afternoon tea" times giving a lovely family atmosphere. Other sitting areas were jotted around the place where people sat quietly using the internet access/working. Yes, plenty of stairs and if we return we would ask for assistance with our luggage next time.

Room Tip: Room 417 is at the top far end of the corridor and is furthest away from the main hub of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great. Its old and creaky and the floor is uneven in some places, and stairs (lots of stairs) but I love it. Our room was large and very comfortable very well set out, the bathroom was a good size. We stayed 2 nights and the service was fantastic, the staff lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was ok, a good selection although the eggs were a real disappointment. The waitress was always happy and restaurant was well set out. We had one evening meal at the hotel in the bar/lounge area, great atmosphere, and enjoyable meal hot and delicious.

Room Tip: The stairs could be a problem if you older, so ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#18 of 23 in Colchester
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 23 in Colchester
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#12 of 23 in Colchester
264 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range: $73 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing