We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for a City Break or Going Out in Colchester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel of Colchester

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Handy for a City Break or Going Out in Colchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

So I have to say that I have always wanted to stay in this hotel. The opportunity came when I was away on business and I had a night out with a friend. The hotel itself is impressive in its appearance although, do not expect modern furnishings. It is designed as an old hotel. Lets not forget, Colchester is the oldest recorded town in England.
My room was in the old part of the hotel upstairs. The floors are wonky and the ceilings are that of something you would imagine being in Shakespeare's house! One word of warning. If you are planning on undressing in the room and not the bathroom, then ensure the curtains are drawn; because the busses go through the high street and the top deck of the busses can see right in! Just sayin!
There are still some original features of the hotel, like old walls and stable doors etc, which have been cleverly morphed into the decor itself.
The food here is fabulous and the bar is very comfortable to drink the night away in. I would stay here again, although only if I needed to be in Colchester town for something. You are right on the high street and you do hear the traffic in the morning. Plenty of restaurants and bars at hand too. All within a few minutes walk. Only about 10 mins from the train station by taxi too.

Room Tip: Careful getting changed in the upstairs - high street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_R_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    161
    129
    110
    85
See reviews for
102
199
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

If its location you want then this is the place to stay in Colchester - The hotel is quite quaint and some of the carpets are tired but the bar and afternoon tea beside a lovely fire are worth it - The rooms are very clean - The let down was the service - reception was slow and breakfast was average and nothing special- The evening dinner was well presented and very edible but service let this down

Room Tip: Seek a room close to the top of the stairs otherwise you are dragging cases miles!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doberhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The George hotel is not a modern trendy hotel catering for young clubbers who want to sit drinking cocktails till 4am. If however you are looking for a historical hotel in the oldest town in england then this is a hotel for you. All the staff were frindly and very hepfull, service was fast and efficient, the food was very good value and well presented, from the traditional cream tea, to the George club sandwich. Breakfast is very flexible and full of options to suit most people, if not all.The room we had was well equiped and comfortable. The views were not great but we didn't book the room for the view!I would imagine that a view to the high street would come with the associated noise also, so we were happy with our positioning.
All in all we would definitely use the George again and would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I use to go to the George Hotel to use the bar area and have a spot of lunch with friends and family. Since the the hotel has been taken over and is now part of a chain it has really gone down hill. I would point out that I have not stayed over night so cannot speak for the bedrooms but downstairs it is really tired and needs new furniture and a lick of paint. Some of the sofas are dirty and sag in the middle and have really seen better days. As you go in the door to your right it is really dark and depressing and in need of some good lighting to make it look inviting.

They have a tiny courtyard at the back which is also used as an entrance from the car park with about 3 wobbly tables for smokers. It also has some tables outside the front which again wobble when you put your drinks on them.

If they spent some money on actually improving this place it would encourage more people to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy210372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Squeaky floors add to the authenticity to a very old building. The staff were very pleasant and I had a comfy nights sleep. The rooms were clean and in character with the hotel. Breakfast was great with a good menu with even porridge made to your ratio's if water and milk including the consistency.
The night manager was even cheerful when I rang the bell at 0200 hrs to let me in after a great night out. I would definitely book here again, a great experience & thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motala
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The evening of arrival we were well cared, but the following two evenings an unfriendly and unprofessional night porter highlighted that guests were not wanted in the lounge after 10.30 by not asking for orders, despite requests and by placing cleaning utensils next to us. Also friends were not allowed in the lounge after 10:30.

The booking system was misleading: the hotel was far from full, but several in our family group got the message that there was only one room left to book, single person had to book double room. Everyone thought they booked room with breakfast, but for some rooms the brakfast had been drawn off somewhere in the booking procedure, still same prize as the ones with breakfast included.

Some beds had no mattress and in these you had to lie on the duvet to not get hurt by the springs.

The hotel is in the middle of town, standard isn´t too high but has charm, some of the staff are really nice and helpful, but the boarding school feeling by the closing for socializing after 10:30 and the night porters neglecting of our requests, repeated interrogation in the mornings about the breakfast bookings although they were for three days, and the beds without mattresses reduces the points we would have liked to give this hotel.

Room Tip: Very noisy by the High Street. Size of room differs from too small to very spacious. Ask what size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

With the hotel being on the high street it is right in the middle of the buz. It suffers from being a very old building not best suited to being an hotel {the floor boards creak like some kind of alarm system}. This does however add a great deal of individuality to the rooms.

The bar always has some life about it, ideal for sitting with a quiet drink and a book to people watch for a couple of hours.

The food is a bit short of inspired, but there are almost limitless alternatives just outside the front door.

All in all, a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot, so worth seeing before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#17 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#20 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Property: George Hotel of Colchester
Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing