We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need to do better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went to the George for lunch today, very disappointing. The old charm is now just old and tired.
Tables not cleared, although plenty of staff.Ordered a ceasar chicken wrap with salad, a main course,got a salad wrap with tiny pieces of chicken, in fact it was a case of hunt for the chicken in a salad wrap with more salad on the side!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    162
    132
    111
    85
See reviews for
106
202
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at the George on three valentines weekends, last weekend the most disappointing and ruined our illusions of it becoming a forever hotel for us. Our hotel room moderately comfortable but we were greeted by a pile of toenails on the bathroom floor presumably from the previous occupant. Breakfast on Saturday morning was appalling but redeeemed itself slightly on sunday. The lounge service and staff keep this hotel afloat as it is relaxing with good food etc a leisurely afternoon spent. however the whole experience underwhelming followed by the debacle of reception authorising a credit card on arrival and then double billing us for the amount they are holding which means endless phonecalls to them and the bank which is beyond tedious. But agree it is a great location but for us the last time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I got a great deal from George Hotel finding a price on their website. When I called up to book this, the receptionist argued with me that that offer even existed. I paid £53 but prices at peak times are considerably higher and this hotel does not warrant them. Booked a double room but got a room with two single beds pushed together. The room was basic and smelt of stale smoke (despite being a non smoking room. The night porter couldn't have been more cold, rude and unprofessional. Breakfast was a highlight, served very hot with a good selection to choose from. Wanted to be more positive but thats not possible on this occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We got a great deal at the George through Superbreak, but would have stayed here anyway as it is one of only a few "Colchester hotels" that's actually in the town. Anyone travelling to Colchester who doesn't know it well and trying to book a "Colchester hotel", beware - you might end up in Kelvedon! Dinner was included on our first night and despite the kitchen being nearly closed by the time we arrived, and looking somewhat disheveled after a long trip, we were treated impeccably by the staff - especially the manager in the restaurant, who was a patient and gracious host. The food (caesar salad, ham hock, fish & chips) was very good, but we were ravenous at that stage anyways. The salad came with a deep fried poached egg which one of my fellow travellers proclaimed was "the best egg I have ever had". Praise indeed. The rooms are compact, but functional, and fantastically creaky and off-the-level. Walking uphill into the bathroom takes some getting used to, but you'll be fine. Rooms at the front are noisier, but they're also decorated beautifully too. This place has real character, admittedly some TLC required in places but I would not mark the place down for this - others have, and if this isn't your cup of tea there is a nice shiny Premier Inn just down the road which should be reassuringly familiar to you. After a few pints in town we returned to more friendly and efficient staff on the night shift who kept us watered for a couple of hours. Friendly staff around at breakfast too, which was plentiful. The cooked breakfast was fine, not the best ever (no deep fried poached eggs, unfortunately) but if you're quite prescriptive about what you want and how you'd like it cooked then that is what you will receive, which is about as much as you can ask. It set us up for the day anyway. I would stay here again and will do so when next in Colchester town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - rooms at the front look nicer! You decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaRmoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

When shopping in Colchester we often visit The George, it's comfortable and unhurried with an old fashioned coaching inn appeal. The George has kept up with the times and is very popular, it's one of the few places in Colchester where you can meet friends in lovely homely yet smart surroundings. The food is always of a good quality and the staff are generally very pleasant and welcoming.
With friends, we decided to take up their New Year's Eve offer which included an overnight stay, as well as cocktails, 4 course meal, live band and champagne at midnight PLUS brunch on New Year's Day! It completely exceeded our expectations and we had a wonderful time, we hope to repeat the experence next year if available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of a mass booking through work.

The hotel room was very small - if there had been more than me it would have felt pretty crowded. The bed was small but comfortable.

Everything was clean but the overall decor is definitely about 10 years out of date and all feels tired and a bit dated.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: I was in 505 which was very small, in the main part of the hotel overlooking the high street - other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churntaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband & I have lived in the Colchester area all our lives and surprisely had never eaten at The George so last week we decided to give lunch a try. The bar area looked busy so we thought the restaurant looked clean & bright with a few tables occupied so we thought we would go for that. What a mistake! We were bitterly disappointed by the service and quality of food. We both ordered gammon steak (we wish we had read the comment by monochrome UK). I am allergic to egg so asked if I could have piineapple instead. The waitress begruderly went to kitchen and came back with the reply "No" but you can have any other fruit. Melon was requested. The steaks arrived - like rashers of bacon - soggy thick chips - overfried egg and small slice of melon. No garnish to even make it look a bit more appetizing. We could not wait to vacate the table, pay the bill & leave the tired looking premises (especially from the outside)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leenart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Property: George Hotel of Colchester
Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing