We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George Hotel of Colchester
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreyFriars(Colchester)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
104
187
148
124
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
187
148
124
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscreaking floorboardslots of characterold coaching innfull englishbreakfast was excellentanthony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 675 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

When shopping in Colchester we often visit The George, it's comfortable and unhurried with an old fashioned coaching inn appeal. The George has kept up with the times and is very popular, it's one of the few places in Colchester where you can meet friends in lovely homely yet smart surroundings. The food is always of a good quality and the staff are generally very pleasant and welcoming.
With friends, we decided to take up their New Year's Eve offer which included an overnight stay, as well as cocktails, 4 course meal, live band and champagne at midnight PLUS brunch on New Year's Day! It completely exceeded our expectations and we had a wonderful time, we hope to repeat the experence next year if available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of a mass booking through work.

The hotel room was very small - if there had been more than me it would have felt pretty crowded. The bed was small but comfortable.

Everything was clean but the overall decor is definitely about 10 years out of date and all feels tired and a bit dated.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: I was in 505 which was very small, in the main part of the hotel overlooking the high street - other colleagues seemed to have bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churntaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband & I have lived in the Colchester area all our lives and surprisely had never eaten at The George so last week we decided to give lunch a try. The bar area looked busy so we thought the restaurant looked clean & bright with a few tables occupied so we thought we would go for that. What a mistake! We were bitterly disappointed by the service and quality of food. We both ordered gammon steak (we wish we had read the comment by monochrome UK). I am allergic to egg so asked if I could have piineapple instead. The waitress begruderly went to kitchen and came back with the reply "No" but you can have any other fruit. Melon was requested. The steaks arrived - like rashers of bacon - soggy thick chips - overfried egg and small slice of melon. No garnish to even make it look a bit more appetizing. We could not wait to vacate the table, pay the bill & leave the tired looking premises (especially from the outside)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leenart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If it's location that you need, then this cannot be beat. a traditional hotel which has a busy, bar & restaurant..
Rooms are a tad noisy at the front of the hotel or over the bar, but hey, if you need the location.. go for it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank easysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife is local and, having found nowhere in Colchester High Street for late Saturday lunch without an hours waiting, she suggested the George Hotel having spent £96 a head one Christmas there. Our last chance and probably the most expensive in the High Street.
We gave the pricey A La Carte menu a miss and plumbed for the set "order two or three courses" .....Father In Laws main was not hot but warm gammon, hard fried egg and soggy steak chips. He couldn't cut the steak for being too tough so we waited for a steak knife to be found....food even colder.
The dry chicken breast and single dauphinoise potato was my five mouthfuls. Only my wife seemed to come out on top with well presented, nicely portioned sea bass and trimmings.
No body asked if we wanted water or to order more drinks when the empties were removed.
We even had two waitresses bring over the same bill twice. Must be the weekend students working part time?
Considering lack lustre service, average food and surroundings and a mighty bill I knew we should have gone next door for a Wimpy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank MonochromeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews