We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brasserie Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brasserie Restaurant”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband & I have lived in the Colchester area all our lives and surprisely had never eaten at The George so last week we decided to give lunch a try. The bar area looked busy so we thought the restaurant looked clean & bright with a few tables occupied so we thought we would go for that. What a mistake! We were bitterly disappointed by the service and quality of food. We both ordered gammon steak (we wish we had read the comment by monochrome UK). I am allergic to egg so asked if I could have piineapple instead. The waitress begruderly went to kitchen and came back with the reply "No" but you can have any other fruit. Melon was requested. The steaks arrived - like rashers of bacon - soggy thick chips - overfried egg and small slice of melon. No garnish to even make it look a bit more appetizing. We could not wait to vacate the table, pay the bill & leave the tired looking premises (especially from the outside)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leenart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    169
    133
    114
    87
See reviews for
110
210
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If it's location that you need, then this cannot be beat. a traditional hotel which has a busy, bar & restaurant..
Rooms are a tad noisy at the front of the hotel or over the bar, but hey, if you need the location.. go for it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife is local and, having found nowhere in Colchester High Street for late Saturday lunch without an hours waiting, she suggested the George Hotel having spent £96 a head one Christmas there. Our last chance and probably the most expensive in the High Street.
We gave the pricey A La Carte menu a miss and plumbed for the set "order two or three courses" .....Father In Laws main was not hot but warm gammon, hard fried egg and soggy steak chips. He couldn't cut the steak for being too tough so we waited for a steak knife to be found....food even colder.
The dry chicken breast and single dauphinoise potato was my five mouthfuls. Only my wife seemed to come out on top with well presented, nicely portioned sea bass and trimmings.
No body asked if we wanted water or to order more drinks when the empties were removed.
We even had two waitresses bring over the same bill twice. Must be the weekend students working part time?
Considering lack lustre service, average food and surroundings and a mighty bill I knew we should have gone next door for a Wimpy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonochromeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Do not order the chicken liver pate. No chicken liver used to make it. They confirmed it was bought in. Rip off for a slice of what was more akin to a cheap tasteless Brussels pate. On the upside my fish was nice, but served with selection of vegetables which included sprouts and turnip. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is no doubt a lovely old building, but it could be better with a little attention. Parking at the back and entering through the passage does not give a great impression, but once in the reception area you can see that it could be grand.
I booked through a web site and supposedly paid half price, this seemed reasonable, maybe a slight bargain, the tariff advertised at reception would be bad value!
The bar, sitting and coffee areas are all quite nice, the restaurant seemed OK at breakfast and the breakfast itself was OK, other than no natural yogurt, every flavour under the sun except the way it was intended.
The staircase and landings were being decorated and the result was looking good and if the rooms followed suit it will be a nice hotel, my room, whilst big and clean, needed introducing to the 21st century.
Location is very central to the town and I have to say all the staff were friendly and helpfull. I will go back as some it stands up well against other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags beware that some of the stairs are a bit antiquated, so maybe a lower room wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is tired, old, rickety, and requires an upgrade. Bed was uncomfortable, room small, and slightly dank smelling. My arrival after midnight was not easy with less than a friendly welcome. Breakfast was greasier than an energetic mechanic after a long day. Stay somewhere else if I were you.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I usually opt for more modern hotels but really wanted a central location this time, so I booked The George, I must say with a little reluctance having read some negative reviews on Trip Advisor. I would happily book it again anytime! My room was very comfortable, the creaking floors added to the atmosphere, the bed was excellent, lovely bathroom too. The staff were extremely helpful, always ready to carry heavy bags up and down stairs, (no lifts, this is after all a coaching inn). Having made other arrangements with friends I only had one meal here, a bar meal, which was excellent, so I can't comment on the restaurant. It was a little noisy at night, but it's only what you would expect in a city centre, considering it was fresher's week it could have been much worse.I loved this atmospheric hostelry, pity there were no ghosts, I think they had all migrated up the street to the Red Lion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiiezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
250 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Property: George Hotel of Colchester
Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing