We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went there recently for a meal with some friends wish I hadn't, the food was the worst I have ever eaten, and the price of the meals is really bad too,would recommend anyone thinks twice about eating in this place

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank abbue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Brook Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel has deteriorated so bad after a great stay about 8 years ago, we asked for a double bed and the first two rooms we were shown had two single beds pushed together (the first room they were different size beds so would of been on different levels). The second room was so disgusting in the bathroom with body hair in plug holes, mould on ceilings and the toilet brush was extremely unclean. There was no hot water, the staff tried to accomodate us as best as they could and explained that the normal head of cleaning had an accident and the other cleaners we not doing a good job and the manager moved us to a third room ...this at least had a double bed but was still unclean, door handle hanging off (manager fixed whilst we were there) but still no hot water. He explained that at the front of the hotel its furthest away from the hot water so you have to run both sink and bath taps for around 15 minutes to get the hot water through. The third room was a lot better than the other two rooms we had seen in the first hour there but was still un clean with other occupants hair on the carpets and the bathrooms were still mouldy and not in a very good state. Maybe after staying there around 8 years ago in the four poster room and then again around 6 years ago we expected better.....the staff did try and help and apologised on many occassions...you could hear there frustrations at the standard of this once very nice place.....I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone unless you were looking for a medieval type stay.
To the owners please spend some much needed money to get this back to its former glory, its location is outstanding , it used to be great .... :(

Room Tip: make sure your vaccinations are in date
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice looking, quaint hotel.
Breakfasts were nice, the staff very friendly and helpful.

The bathroom was clean but ugly, old tiles have been shoddily painted over
Single bed far too small for an Adult
lightbulbs popped frequently

not worth the nightly rate.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and although the staff I spoke to were very helpful,the hotel itself is "very tired".
There was a wedding party staying and when I returned to my room, the couple in the adjacent room had music "notched right up" at 2 in the morning. A 'phonecall to reception got it sorted out in double quick time so can't fault them for that but definitely the hotel, as a whole is in need of a major refurb.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank mickdeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just had 2 nights away at the Red Lion, Staff Were brilliant and expected to do everything by themselves, and were always saying sorry for the wait, food was lovely, and although we had to wait it was done to order, nothing was too much trouble for the girls, we were in room 11 at the back although with no views we had no noise either and had good nights sleep both nights, the room was clean and bathroom and towels were fine, the water was really hot and shower fine, people seem to expect a lot from toiletries and other bits, hairdryers were available you just needed to ask, for the price £203 .00 for 2 nights, breakfast 3 course dinner and bed for 2 it was really reasonable.
We did check on the parking beforehand and knew it was about 800 yards from the hotel, as the hotel is in the high street it would be difficult at the best of times but the ncp park was only the other side of the passage back not too far to walk, I would say if you have any problems with mobility this hotel is not for you as there are lots of steps, but for a good value town break it was ideal.
we would go back again, the staff work really hard to please you and they were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 11 was fine and quiet as at the back of the building
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Great time .nice room staff Very helpful especially casey .need more staff on ridiculous the work she had to do on her own .The evening meal was very good bit of noise from people out all night but nothing to do with the hotel

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

DO NOT stay at this hotel, the place is a dirty, smelly rundown hole. Most of my 2 night stay was without running water, the room next door was smashed up during the night. The TV and lights turned themselves on at 2.25 am full blast..!!!

Horrid, horrid hotel. Hotel staff not interested at all.. Just a vile stay..

Room Tip: My tip, do not stay..
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1970gucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.0 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#21 of 23 in Colchester
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
846 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Address: 43 High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel was built in 1465 and is in the centre of Colchester, Britain's oldest recorded town. The historical building has original Tudor features, including wooden beams.The Red Lion Hotel is one of the oldest inns in the area. The hotel is a short walk from the shops and Colchester Town Rail Station is 500 metres away. Hotel Rooms: 24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Brook Red Lion Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing