We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best zoo! ”
Review of Colchester Zoo

Colchester Zoo
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colchester Zoo is constantly developing and has won many awards for its work. With over 270 species to see, set in 60 acres of beautiful parkland and lakes, Colchester Zoo is well worth a visit. As you walk around the zoo there's plenty of play areas to try out including the indoor soft play area Jungle Tumble with a section for under 3s and all new play equipment where the kids can release their wild side! New enclosures include a walk through enclosure with butterflies and another with Rainbow Lorikeets offering visitors a chance to feed them a treat of nectar. Plus there's 'Bears of the Rising Sun', a state of the art enclosure which houses two beautiful sun bears , Jo Jo and Srey Ya. You can also come face to face with Komodo Dragons, see white rhino, giraffes, ostrich and kudu roaming together at Kingdom of the Wild and walk underwater through the 24m tunnel at the Playa Patagonia sealion pool. Learn more about the animals and see them up close by watching one of the 50 daily displays. You even get the fantastic opportunity to feed the elephants and giraffes yourself and take a ride on the 'Lost Madagascar Express' road train! Don't forget to pop into the discovery centre and have a go at handling some unusual bugs or get your face painted and transform yourself into your favourite animal!
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We have visited here twice before but this time was extra good! There has been new parts built and the zoo is looking excellent! The grounds are absolutely spotless (no litter what so ever) the staff were lovely and informative. There is a massive range of animals to see as well! We had an absolutely excellent day and I would highly recommend it! Excellent value for money.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank jacobkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day out with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff and management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold card"
in 191 reviews
"feeding times"
in 120 reviews
"train ride"
in 110 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 101 reviews
"sea lions"
in 73 reviews
"food outlets"
in 128 reviews
"sun bears"
in 61 reviews
"animals seem"
in 57 reviews
"yellow line"
in 53 reviews
"plenty of places to eat"
in 61 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 56 reviews
"annual pass"
in 65 reviews
"great family day"
in 95 reviews
"all ages"
in 266 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 80 reviews
"value for money"
in 147 reviews
"school holidays"
in 74 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 5,046 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

We visited today and had a great experience both the adults and girls loved it. Pleased we have bought an annual ticket as we didn’t quite get round everything. The experience of feeding an Elephant was brilliant even better as it was free!!!

The only negative was getting lunch at Penguini’s the queue didn’t seem to bad to start with but it took about 40 minutes to get served and then another 20 minutes for the food.

Looking forward to our next visit

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mattmhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day at Colchester Zoo and that you got to feed one of our elephants.

We will pass on your comments regarding the Penguini's Restaurant to our Catering Development Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

Colchester Zoo is such a lovely Zoo, and because its so big is a whole day out. It also has a play park so when the younger children are wore out from walking they can go and have a play, there never to wore out to go to the park are they??.These several eating places, it has a picnic area and a souvenir shop. This Zoo may seem expensive but i can assure you its worth every penny.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank barbaradavis9aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day out with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

Zoo was brilliant had a great time Loads of things to do gran kids loved it there will be going a again soon

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Hi Brian

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

We decided to take 2 of our grandchildren to Colchester Zoo. This zoo is well organised and run . The buildings are in very good condition and the animals look well cared for . It’s a bit confusing following the yellow line maybe each section could have a different colour line as you sometimes find yourself back tracking on the route . Could do with a few more eating outlets over the site . But all in all we had a good family day out , and parking is free which was a bonus . Would definitely visit again

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jimpendrigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us.

We have noted your comments and will bring this to the attention of our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colchester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Colchester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing