We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to learn”
Review of Colchester Zoo

Colchester Zoo
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colchester Zoo is constantly developing and has won many awards for its work. With over 270 species to see, set in 60 acres of beautiful parkland and lakes, Colchester Zoo is well worth a visit. As you walk around the zoo there's plenty of play areas to try out including the indoor soft play area Jungle Tumble with a section for under 3s and all new play equipment where the kids can release their wild side! New enclosures include a walk through enclosure with butterflies and another with Rainbow Lorikeets offering visitors a chance to feed them a treat of nectar. Plus there's 'Bears of the Rising Sun', a state of the art enclosure which houses two beautiful sun bears , Jo Jo and Srey Ya. You can also come face to face with Komodo Dragons, see white rhino, giraffes, ostrich and kudu roaming together at Kingdom of the Wild and walk underwater through the 24m tunnel at the Playa Patagonia sealion pool. Learn more about the animals and see them up close by watching one of the 50 daily displays. You even get the fantastic opportunity to feed the elephants and giraffes yourself and take a ride on the 'Lost Madagascar Express' road train! Don't forget to pop into the discovery centre and have a go at handling some unusual bugs or get your face painted and transform yourself into your favourite animal!
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

Great place for children to learn about and develop love of animals - lots of children centred activities but an equally lovely day for adults .
Food ok but a little pricey for what it is I. E , the children's lunch boxes do not have much in them for the money.

Best way to appreciate the zoo is with a great value gold card so that you can visit as often as you like . I go often with grandchildren who adore it and we always make great memories. This zoo also does great conservation work which contributes towards species survival - brilliant ...

Two negatives are that nearly all of the toilet blocks need updating with bigger cubicles as far too small for families to use or even single adults !
Second is that due to slopes, the access for those with mobility issues is poor - need to think about improving access.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank cjmac1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us.

I have passed on your comments regarding the toilets to our management team. With regards to the access, we recommend that anyone with a wheelchair follows the "Easier Route" which gives the best route possible around the Zoo avoiding the steepest hills, this is a yellow line to follow around the zoo's pathways.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold card"
in 191 reviews
"feeding times"
in 120 reviews
"train ride"
in 110 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 101 reviews
"sea lions"
in 73 reviews
"food outlets"
in 128 reviews
"sun bears"
in 61 reviews
"animals seem"
in 57 reviews
"yellow line"
in 53 reviews
"plenty of places to eat"
in 61 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 56 reviews
"annual pass"
in 65 reviews
"great family day"
in 95 reviews
"all ages"
in 266 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 80 reviews
"value for money"
in 147 reviews
"school holidays"
in 74 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 5,045 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Great place to go and wander around. Sit and listen to the noises of the animals.
Great place for families, or just to sit and take in the world.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Geoff

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit with us. We agree that it is nice to walk around the zoo grounds and take in all the different noises.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

I wonderful day out, because it maybe local don’t get fooled by that, people travel the country to visit so if your lucky enough that it’s near you it’s well worth a day out

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank I9384BZleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Lee,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We do hope you and your family enjoyed your day out with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit, fun for everyone and such lovely animals. We love the seals and the elephants.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank kirstydavis2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Kirsty

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit. We do hope that you enjoyed your day with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Good all year round as it has indoor soft play and some indoor animal enclosures. Good for the going and old.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lorrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Lorrie

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit. We do hope that you and your family enjoyed your day out with us.

We do some great activities whatever the weather, so you can always enjoy your visit to Colchester Zoo

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colchester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Colchester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing