We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best of the best

This zoo has had so much work and improvements invested in to it year after year. Baby rhino born... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
badbadeah
,
badbadesh
via mobile
Christmas at the zoo

Had an incredible time at the zoo this weekend. We are regulars with gold cards but today we... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Hayley07ips
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 5,045 reviews
  
Reviews (5,045)
Filter reviews
5,045 results
Traveler rating
3,729
1,010
199
65
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,729
1,010
199
65
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold card feeding times train ride animal enclosures sea lions food outlets sun bears animals seem yellow line plenty of places to eat tesco vouchers annual pass great family day all ages packed lunch value for money school holidays
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 5,045 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Good all year round as it has indoor soft play and some indoor animal enclosures. Good for the going and old.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lorrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Lorrie

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit. We do hope that you and your family enjoyed your day out with us.

We do some great activities whatever the weather, so you can always enjoy your visit to Colchester Zoo

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

A fine range of animals on display here with easy to read information on them. Clear signposting. Refreshments ok but not much seating. Ok in November when we went but I imagine heaving in high summer.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Jelboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Jeremy

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We do hope that you enjoyed your day with us. I have noted your comments regarding the seating to our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

With a roar in our car we approached the zoo.
An empty carpark and a very short queue.

We entered the large arrraction and followed a trail,
Taking us on an adventure like the a sweet fairytale.

Starting with a cockroach as big as my palm,
Crittering very fastly – you can see how they alarm.

Then moving very quickly and away from a snake,
We darted in the Rainforest where a sloth was AWAKE!

It passed right over my head whilst climbing a tree,
Fastly along a rope which was truly magical to see.

The sun bears were the next striking animal we saw.
Bold and very dangerous with their sharp pointing claw.

The chimpanzees were basking and enjoying the sun,
Sunbathing on their terrace was their idea of fun.

The king of zoo was who we met next.
A huge great lion in his tree top annex.

Sleeping very peacefully on top of the world.
Purring very innocently whilst his long tail curled.

Stomping the zoo like the elephants do,
We came across the very creatures – so magnificent and blue (or grey lol).

Lumbering around with little grace,
Swinging their trunks as they picked up pace.

Fed very calmly by the waiting crowd,
All overwhelmed by our encounter and feeling as high as a cloud.

As tall as the trees – the giraffes was next,
Touching the sky with their very long necks.

Gracefully walking on their legs like stilt,
Showing off how fascinating and uniquely they’re built.

Continuing along the path we reached the farm.
Little pony’s, goats and various bird showing their charm.

The wallabys has a walkthrough where you could watch them hop,
Making me very nervous and in my tracks I’d always stop.

Jumping across the path where I had chosen to walk,
Their beady eyes watching from the tree where they’d stalk.

Finishing our day with a flutter we fed parakeets,
Watching as they flew over making me heart skip some beats.

Landing on our hands and lapping their food up,
Finishing their tasty nectar inside the little cup.

Now back at the start of the trail it was nearly 5PM.
A very fun packed day at this amazing Essex gem!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank HippieInLippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely rhyme,
It seemed like you had a good time.

What a story you have to tell,
I'm sure it was sad to say farewell.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Maybe on another sunny afternoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

As a family of six the £5 off per person offer was helpful, albeit many of the animals weren't easily visible as they were staying in the warm. We love Colchester zoo and will return again!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Andrew

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit. We do hope that you and your family enjoyed your day with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Went with my 3 year old son he really enjoyed it and fed the elephants and giraffe was a great experience for us and he loved it
Also the animals have lovely enclosures not to small and they all look healthy
Also the penguins are cute

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Baker180103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed your day with us and that you got to experience feeding our giraffes and elephants.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews