We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best zoo!

We have visited here twice before but this time was extra good! There has been new parts built and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
jacobkings
,
Maidstone, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great day

We visited today and had a great experience both the adults and girls loved it. Pleased we have... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Roving68491769951
via mobile
Read all 5,012 reviews
  
Reviews (5,012)
Filter reviews
4,978 results
Traveler rating
3,677
996
198
65
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,677
996
198
65
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold card feeding times train ride animal enclosures food outlets sea lions sun bears animals seem yellow line plenty of places to eat tesco vouchers annual pass all ages great family day packed lunch value for money school holidays
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,978 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We have visited here twice before but this time was extra good! There has been new parts built and the zoo is looking excellent! The grounds are absolutely spotless (no litter what so ever) the staff were lovely and informative. There is a massive range of animals to see as well! We had an absolutely excellent day and I would highly recommend it! Excellent value for money.

Thank jacobkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day out with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff and management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visited today and had a great experience both the adults and girls loved it. Pleased we have bought an annual ticket as we didn’t quite get round everything. The experience of feeding an Elephant was brilliant even better as it was free!!!

The only negative was getting lunch at Penguini’s the queue didn’t seem to bad to start with but it took about 40 minutes to get served and then another 20 minutes for the food.

Looking forward to our next visit

Thank Roving68491769951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day at Colchester Zoo and that you got to feed one of our elephants.

We will pass on your comments regarding the Penguini's Restaurant to our Catering Development Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Colchester Zoo is such a lovely Zoo, and because its so big is a whole day out. It also has a play park so when the younger children are wore out from walking they can go and have a play, there never to wore out to go to the park are they??.These several eating places, it has a picnic area and a souvenir shop. This Zoo may seem expensive but i can assure you its worth every penny.

Thank barbaradavis9aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day out with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Zoo was brilliant had a great time Loads of things to do gran kids loved it there will be going a again soon

Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Brian

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to take 2 of our grandchildren to Colchester Zoo. This zoo is well organised and run . The buildings are in very good condition and the animals look well cared for . It’s a bit confusing following the yellow line maybe each section could have a different colour line as you sometimes find yourself back tracking on the route . Could do with a few more eating outlets over the site . But all in all we had a good family day out , and parking is free which was a bonus . Would definitely visit again

Thank Jimpendrigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us.

We have noted your comments and will bring this to the attention of our management team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

firstly this I a lovely well kept zoo...so clean and toilets were spotless...fab....lots of places to eat.
loads of animal interaction...wecgotcto feed the giraffes the elephants and the larakeet...omg the elephants were amazing...the larakeets were hilarious...be aware the do land on you to feed so if you have a bird fear beware...honestly I had them land on my head...so funny I was literally covered in birds.....
loved this zoo loads so much so my husband has booked me in to have an elephant experience and I can't wait....we also upgraded to a pass which actually gets you into 12 different zoos for free...amazing value if you love zoos like we do
definitely worth a visit

Thank tbaker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi tbaker99

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your day with us.
We do hope that you enjoy your elephant experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place for children to learn about and develop love of animals - lots of children centred activities but an equally lovely day for adults .
Food ok but a little pricey for what it is I. E , the children's lunch boxes do not have much in them for the money.

Best way to appreciate the zoo is with a great value gold card so that you can visit as often as you like . I go often with grandchildren who adore it and we always make great memories. This zoo also does great conservation work which contributes towards species survival - brilliant ...

Two negatives are that nearly all of the toilet blocks need updating with bigger cubicles as far too small for families to use or even single adults !
Second is that due to slopes, the access for those with mobility issues is poor - need to think about improving access.

Thank cjmac1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your day with us.

I have passed on your comments regarding the toilets to our management team. With regards to the access, we recommend that anyone with a wheelchair follows the "Easier Route" which gives the best route possible around the Zoo avoiding the steepest hills, this is a yellow line to follow around the zoo's pathways.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to go and wander around. Sit and listen to the noises of the animals.
Great place for families, or just to sit and take in the world.

1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Geoff

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit with us. We agree that it is nice to walk around the zoo grounds and take in all the different noises.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wonderful day out, because it maybe local don’t get fooled by that, people travel the country to visit so if your lucky enough that it’s near you it’s well worth a day out

1  Thank I9384BZleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lee,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Colchester Zoo. We do hope you and your family enjoyed your day out with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to visit, fun for everyone and such lovely animals. We love the seals and the elephants.

1  Thank kirstydavis2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColZoo, Marketing Assistant at Colchester Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Kirsty

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit. We do hope that you enjoyed your day with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Many Thanks
Colchester Zoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews