We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Railway Sleeper Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
$73
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
GreyFriars(Colchester)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$91
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
68
29
11
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
29
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget accommodationdoor codemile end roadsufficient informationclose to train stationmini fridgeshort staywi fi was greatpower shower was excellenttext messageneeded somewhereone at a timeequipped roomsexcellent communicationtv with freeviewbottled watertea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying in Colchester for three nights we chose The Railway Sleeper as our base. Easy check in, clean rooms and friendly owners plus good parking facilities made the stay very agreeable. Very OK if you are looking for a reasonable place to sleep. We were glad we had a car as travelling to the university area otherwise would have been rather cumbersome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torgeir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Dominic and Kim are the most friendly and affable guest house owners you could ever wish to meet, you get a warm welcome and they have an understanding nature. I was left stranded and had no transport home until 2 hours after check out time, I explained this to the owners and asked if I could leave my luggage until my transport arrived, I was invited to stay in the room until my lift arrived. These are the kind of people who show understanding and kindness. I travel with a large dog who they readily accepted at short notice. The facilities are good, the rooms are clean and well maintained, the breakfast is more than you would expect from a budget hotel. The dining room is airy and spotless. I really can't praise this guest house highly enough, they are hard working (obviously) and nothing is too much trouble. I strongly recommend this guest house to anyone on a budget because you wont find better value in colchester. You arrive a stranger and you leave as a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Railway Sleeper when visiting Colchester for one night in March 2013. We just wanted a cheap place as we were literally just sleeping for one night, but were pleasantly surprised. There is no reception but check in consists of them sending a code to open the front door and details of where the room key could be found. The room was small but very clean and had an en-suite, TV, hair dryer, safe, iron, coffee and tea making facilities and a flat screen TV. more than we were expecting from a B and B. There is also parking which was a bonus in the centre of Colchester! They don't do breakfast at the weekend but a nice touch was the complimentary welcome pack in the fridge consisting of a tub of yoghurt, a muffin and a carton of fruit juice.

Room Tip: Only problem was that the small fridge was quite noisy but we switched it off.problem solved!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1953pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a great quality budget hotel located 10 minutes walk up the hill from Colchester's main railway station.Thanks to our host's for a wonderful stay room great ,breakfast even better ,everything catered for, check-in so easy. Highly recommended . Many thanks again and thanks for the picture, will be back.

Room Tip: room 4 quality .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is perfect for single workers wanting cheap accomodation. The room was very small for two people but we managed in a comical way.
The continental breakfast was nice and they use fairtrade but the bread was still frozen.
The hotel has a check yourself in policy and they text you the key code to enter on arrival which we didn't receive and on returning on our second day our room was unlocked and our window was wide open! Not happy as we were on the ground floor.
Security needs improvement

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat-Max-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLilley7, Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Mr Starr

Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback. We always look investigate customers comments to see where improvement is needed. Our rooms are compact but we do state the dimensions of the rooms and ensuites both on our website and the number of other booking portals so guests can make an informed choice with regards to the level of spaciousness. We do offer self heck in so guests are free to arrive at any time from 3pm. We are surprised that you have stated you did not recieve the code bbecause this would have meant you would not have gained accesss. I have looked into this and we have a record of sending you a text message on the 0503.13 with the code details to which you replied to us with a text stating ok. With regards to security we already have 24 hour CCTV recording and a member of staff is on the premises at all times. I can only apologise if your window was left open as we routinely open these during the service of the room. Our cleaner does follow a strict routine on completion of cleaning the rooms by doing a double check of all room doors to ensure they are locked and then ticking this off on her check list. If it was indeed vit was an oversight on her part we do apologise and trust all was in order when you returned to your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews