We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You know what your getting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“You know what your getting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This premier inn was very clean, great helpful staff. with these hotels you know what your going to get and for the money I cant fault them.
we went to the pub next door for food which was OK nothing special but I always say you get what you pay for.
overall very nice comfortable, clean and tidy hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    70
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
62
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This seems neutral wording but actually it’s a compliment – “The usual Premier Inn standard – Comfy bed, good-sized room, good value for money. Hearty breakfast; nothing at all to complain about”. One of the older Premier Inns with shower over bath (OK unless you’re compromised in some way) and with a Beefeater restaurant next door offering good value food. We were right at the back and it was very quiet – looking at the layout I think you would be unlucky indeed to be disturbed by noise. I was impressed to be rung the day before the stay to check that everything for the planned trip was in order. Apparently it’s now company policy only to provide one hand towel which is a step in the wrong direction. The loo flush push button was a trial for elderly and arthritic fingers and it was hard to flush the loo properly. Else, as I said before, “Nothing to complain about”.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations, however had problem will room temperature during stay. The standard of Cleanliness and presentation was above average. The Most important thing for me was that that the family room had been well prepared prior to my arrival. Overall a pleasant and acceptable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

First the only good point- the reception staff were friendly & attentive . Our room was at the front of the hotel next to a busy main road, sleep was frequently disturbed by emergency service vehicles throughout our stay .
Dinner in the adjacent Beefeater was good- when it eventually arrived after asking our waitress if our order had been placed
Breakfast was supposed to be the usual buffet style but we found we had to order our food which eventually turned up over cooked & cold , we had to request hot water for drinks & the table with cereals etc was dirty in fairness there appeared to be only one waitress for the entire dining room this morning .Definitely not the standard of service we have come to expect from previous stays at other Premier Inns . We wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

first stay in colchester, lovely place to eat drink and shop, hotel very clean , the staff in the beefeater next door and also in the hotel ,were very helpful and friendly , breakfast really good , premier inns get better you get what you pay for , never stayed in a bad one , this one is close to the centre of colchester , with a lovely walk through the park .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fliptop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our second stay here and it was even better this time. We paid £37 for the night. A real bargain. Staff, room, breakfast all excellent. Premier inns just get better each time we stay in one. The quality and comfort beat many top class hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyeastsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to have a 1 night stay in Colchester and wanted somewhere central and reasonably priced, the Premier Inn Central ticked all the boxes. The room was clean, well presented, light and airy with flat screen tv and tea & coffee making facilities. The bed was really comfortable and roomy. The staff were excellent, polite and interested in us and our requirements.
There were no real negatives, we expected a bit of traffic noise given the location but actually it was not bad. The light in the bathroom was not very bright but didn't cause any problems, we just reported it when we left.
Lovely breakfast provided by the Beefeater next door.

Room Tip: We booked online but when we got there the staff gave us a room near the back to minimise any traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhuman700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Address: Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colchester
#3 Family Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roman temples and landscapes beloved by John Constable right on your doorstep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Colchester Central Hotel Colchester
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing