We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Colchester

“Long wait”

Turtle Bay - Colchester
Order Online
Ranked #54 of 609 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Turtle Bay is an informal, immersive dining experience. Across our 44 restaurants (and counting), we bring the Caribbean sunshine with our signature dishes, cool island cocktails and classic beats. Our guests love our cocktails and mocktails as much as our jerk chicken, and our beach shack-style bar and veranda are the perfect locations for guests to make their own ‘Island Moment’. Everything we do is designed to ensure that guests can share food and drink with friends and family, while simply relaxing without any purpose. This is where you come in. Creating such a laid-back experience every day and every night is a lot harder than it looks, which is why our team is the best in the business. We need the positivity, proactivity, professionalism and personality that keep our guests coming back for more. Be part of the Bay way.
Restaurant details
Description: Turtle Bay is an informal, immersive dining experience. Across our 44 restaurants (and counting), we bring the Caribbean sunshine with our signature dishes, cool island cocktails and classic beats. Our guests love our cocktails and mocktails as much as our jerk chicken, and our beach shack-style bar and veranda are the perfect locations for guests to make their own ‘Island Moment’. Everything we do is designed to ensure that guests can share food and drink with friends and family, while simply relaxing without any purpose. This is where you come in. Creating such a laid-back experience every day and every night is a lot harder than it looks, which is why our team is the best in the business. We need the positivity, proactivity, professionalism and personality that keep our guests coming back for more. Be part of the Bay way.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waitress was friendly, food was ok. Food took 45 mins to come (simple burger and wrap). Other tables got entire meal for free yet was offered nothing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank df2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, General Manager at Turtle Bay - Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Demi,

Thank you for your feedback. If you'd like us to look further into his for you please drop us a message to feedback@turtlebay.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 316 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2020

Waited ages for drinks while staff chatting. Finally get them, takes ages to order then see our food come on top of the counter undertHe light things where we watch a staff member take the Chips out of little bucket things And put them on a plate with her hands. 7-8 minutes the food sat there then when it got to my kids it was cold! When I mention this I get a fresh portion of chips. Rainbow salad was so small and rocket soggy! Sweet potatoes fries overcooked. Halloumi overcooked. We was gutted as normally it's lovely but after yesterday I wouldn't return :( also the ladies toilets need a good clean ana stank bad! Not good at all :(

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Bentylar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, General Manager at Turtle Bay - Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry to read your review. We’re glad that you have taken the to leave us one but we’re so sorry that we let you down. We would be happy to look into this for you in more detail. If you would like us to, send our Guest Experience Team an email on feedback@turtlebay.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Despite being very busy,with few staff around,we were made to feel so welcome, and our server couldn't do enough for us.
Great vibe and great food.
Good wine.
Lovely attitude to the little ones in our party.
What's not to like?

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vampireweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Owner at Turtle Bay - Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

WOOHOO!

Thank you so much for your awesome review, it's great to see that you had such a fantastic time. We are so grateful for our guests and want you to enjoy the brand as much as we do! We'll be sure to pass your feedback onto the team.

We'll see you again very soon!

One Love ✌️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Need I say more? Good music. Quiet, chilled, etc.......pudding portions could be a little larger...looking at you sticky ginger pudding...but that's just me with a sweet tooth.....................

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Owner at Turtle Bay - Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the awesome review, Jason! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will pass your feedback on to our developments team. We can't wait to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Very average food with looong wait for the food and the bill.
Not going again. Was expecting more from that place.

Date of visit: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank piotrwrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Owner at Turtle Bay - Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review. We’re very sorry to hear that we let you down. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the restaurant, thank you for taking the time to reach out and let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay - Colchester also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay - Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing