We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, historic hotel right in the middle of Colchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The North Hill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, historic hotel right in the middle of Colchester”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room was absolutely lovely and the staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful, even bringing me up some peppermint tea bags one evening. It was perfect for a romantic getaway. The breakfast was excellent too with a super veggie option not to mention smoked salmon and poached eggs on muffins (one of my favourite ever things!) Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    81
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
26
108
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you have a room at the back, this is one of the best hotels you'll ever stay in. I had Room 34, up 2 flights of stairs, away from the main building. It's huge, comfy, elegantly restored, with original beams in the vaulted ceiling, a superb & spacious shower, a blissfully comfy bed & the staff is intelligent & friendly. A tray of tea, biscuits & an electric kettle is provided, there is central heating and a ceiling fan for hot weather, the skylights give fine light into the room, the flat panel TV is positioned perfectly for viewing from the comfy couch. The restaurant is excellent with a varied menu & fast service. The towels are a good size, the toiletries are somewhat minimal but I had my own. The silly owner insists on piped music which is the only downside to this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Essential to have a room at the back. The new rooms in the annexe behind the charming courtyard are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights, mid week. Had room in front of the hotel and was unable to sleep due to the noise. Hotel is right on a busy high street, the weather was good so we had to sleep with the windows open which probably didnt help. Woken very early 5.30 am by the traffic and road sweepers and dustbin men. So make sure you have a room at the back of the hotel. On the otherhand, the food was good and breakfast was good for the price of this hotel. Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

If you want a good nights sleep ensure you aren't on the front of the Hotel, the noise of students out on the beer goes on until the early hours, then the street sweeper at 5.45am followed by buses revving is enough to drive you mad, however the staff and food are lovely so make sure you get a room on the back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as we were attending a function in the town hall and this was the best hotel in walking distance. We had a room at the back which was lovely and quiet. The bed was very comfy and the room spacious. It would have been nice to have more toiletries but I am sure that reception would happily provide those. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly. All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Loved our two day stay here. Loved the room especially the little cottage esq room at the rear, I think it was number 31. The food was delicious and the quality of the ingredients were of a high standard. The only thing I would say if you are to stay here is to ask for a room at the rear. The first night we stayed we slept in a room on the roadside. It was one of the worst night sleep I have had in many years. The traffic was so loud and as it is a listed building, they can not replace the windows to add double glazing (that's what I was told by a member of staff). The staff were friendly and happily upgraded us to another room for free.

I would definitely stay here again or even if I wasn't to stay, the food was that good, I would go just to eat!

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for one night in this lovely hotel which had recently been refurbished.
The room was freshly decorated in bright colours and very comfortable. The room was quite hot but we had 2 fans in the room which solved this minor problem.
All staff were polite, very helpful and efficient.
We had a wonderful meal with friends who were also staying in the hotel. The ambience was relaxed and friendly and the food was first class. The menu provided a good selection of fish and meat. Choosing a dessert was made impossible as they all looked so good.
There was no rush to finish and we stayed in the bar for drinks after.
I would definately come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the high street could be a little noisy. Book in advance for a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwood60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
2.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
7.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#19 of 23 in Colchester
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hill Hotel

Property: The North Hill Hotel
Address: 51 North Hill, Colchester CO1 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colchester
#3 Business Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The North Hill Hotel we strive to provide a convenient and friendly place to stay in the heart of the old Roman Capital city which is full of character, but softened behind a modern clean exterior. We are commited to giving a consistant friendly service to all our guests in a way which will surpass any previous expectations of value in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The North Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hill Colchester
The North Hill Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing