We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an exceptional guest house!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Sevens Guest House
Ranked #6 of 41 Colchester B&B and Inns
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's an exceptional guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Four sevens is truly a great place to stay! Its only a very short walk from Colchester's city centre. The building is new or newly renovated and smells fresh and clean from the moment one walks in. The rooms and toilets/showers are spacious and spotlessly clean. The homeowners are very warm and welcoming. They do all they can to make sure that everybody has a great stay there. Breakfast is delicious and consists of several home made products! It sould really be a five star guest house! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivalmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kindness.
My very best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
17
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reims
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent a very good night in Four Sevens Guest House. It first looks like a family house, and then you discover the comfort and luxury of the room. From the large bow window I could see the garden. The bed was very comfortable. It is only 15 minutes' walking to the town centre, where there are pleny of restaurants. In the morning I was served a delicious cooked breakfast, choosing the way I wanted my eggs cooked. It was so generous I could not eat it all. While I waited for the eggs, bacon, peeled tomatoes and beans, I could have eaten some cereals from a large range, but I prefered to leaf through a few books from the bookshelves present in the breakfast room. I felt warmly welcomed, all the more than I was offered a nice piece of lemon cake when I came "home" in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kindness.
My very best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is the ideal guesthouse. Its quiet yet not far from where the train station or town centre. The service is immaculate and the rooms have everything you need including free wifi. Plus there's fresh cake in the evening and any kind of breakfast you want in the morning. To me it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your so kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was a great stay at the Four Sevens Guest House with Calypso. She is a great host and really cares for her guests. The rooms are simple furnished but there is everything you need for a relaxed stay. We really recommend a stay with Calypso.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMeyengraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kindness.
My very best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were in Colchester for a family wedding and our party included the elderly and the very young - we were all looked after splendidly, and it felt, individually. Our breakfasts were lovely and again accommodated varying needs from vegetarian to carnivore; and one of us benefited from an impromptu cheese and wine supper when it was discovered he had spent the evening dashing between shops on last minute errands! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, who even kindly gave some of us a lift to the church when we had cut things fine! This was a bed and breakfast experience with all the trimmings - for which many thanks - Andrew and Julia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review of our accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent the night here with some friends, we got a very warm welcome, the rooms were spacious, immaculate and inviting. Walking distance of the town centre. My bed was really comfy!

Owner was really helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

Amazing breakfast - will definitely be coming back with my family.

Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for an amazing night's stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deprofundis, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our Guest House.
It was a pleasure meeting all of you and thank you for staying at our guest house.
Kind Regards
C Demetri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

On arrival we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Calypso the B & B owner . We had the choice of rooms so elected to have one on the top floor. It was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It is a very short stroll into Colchester town centre, so it was nice to be able to park the car and wander into town. The breakfast was very good and filling. We would not hesitate to recommend this B & B and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kindness.
My very best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 24 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sevens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sevens Guest House

Property: Four Sevens Guest House
Address: 28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sevens Guesthouse is a very large and spacious Victorian house which has only just recently undergone a full refurbishment of all its rooms and facilities. The Four Sevens Guesthouse is situated in a quiet location within a few minutes stroll from the centre of town. We are also a short bus ride away from both railway stations and the University of Essex and a few minutes walk from Colchester Study Centre and the Colchester InstituteThe large airy and bright rooms have been modernised to a very high standard. They are equipped with:• Hospitality trays• LCD TVs with freeview/sky and DVD players.• Free Wi Fi access. Warm and friendly reception and generous breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Sevens Guest House Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing