We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Authentic Chinese food”
Review of Banquet 1408

Banquet 1408
Ranked #31 of 477 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I once again visited this wonderful eating place for the lunch-time dim sum menu which is the best ever, the easy way of ordering on your menu sheet by ticking the number of items you want, food arrives quickly served by friendly staff, the selections on the menu are more than plenty to choose from,I have also visited this restuarant in the evenings and have enjoyed the set meals (which are nothing like your normal chinese restuarants) and also picked separate meals all are so delicious and exciting, the relaxed atmosphere completes the eating experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolscott7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    85
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Chinese and dim sum around”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Unless you book a table there's usually a small wait... The place is always packed with Chinese people, so that's clearly saying a lot.
The food is delicious, great sized portions and always so tasty.
Best thing about this place is the dim sum and Cheung feng .... You must try!
It's fairly good value for money as well.
Have returned and will return over and over again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic and modern”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Possibly the best Chinese food I have eaten outside of Hong Kong. No tacky Chinese elevator music playing in the background, no plastic Dragons haggling from the walls. Just great food offered up with great service, and all at a reasonable price. Will go back, and will keep going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1971Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Too good to recommend to others!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been dining at Banquet 1408 regularly since it opened and every single meal has been excellent. The food is always delicious and cooked with only the best ingredients. The chef can always personalise a dish if, for instance, you want less chillis, or to substitute another vegetable instead of onions. The owners are always very welcoming and the service is always efficient and friendly.

If you get a chance to go to one of Cici's special nights e.g. Elvis Presley, New Year's Eve or to celebrate the Chinese New Year then you can be assured of a fantastic meal and an entertaining evening.

We have also used one of their two function rooms for private parties and can highly recommend doing this for a larger group occasion.

We are very fortunate to live only a couple of miles away from the restaurant as I can honestly say that this is the best Chinese restaurant we've ever eaten in!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is by far the best Chinese we have found outside China town in London. The service can be a little abrupt but the food is always fantastic. The child policy s quite clear and we have never had a problem with our four year old who has been going here since she was a baby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banquet 1408 also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Banquet 1408? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing