We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, a great party venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akbar's

Akbar's
Ranked #7 of 305 Restaurants in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, a great party venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I ate here with my team from work at the end of May. I have been a few times before and was happy to go back. The service at the bar is rather slow and drinks are expensive, there seems to be no till at the bar which slows service and getting your change down considerably.

Having said that, when we were seated, service was good, and the speed of service was acceptable.

All of us enjoyed our food, some of our team went for the HUGE Chefs challenge, but as with last time I went there with my team, those that chose the challenge didnt finish it :-) For the "normal" meals, the portions are a good size. The Naan breads are HUUUGE! look at the photos unless you want a shock lol.

I had spring roll shaped samosas which were lovely, and a veggie curry for mains. All of my colleagues enjoyed their food, but be careful to check your food for whole chillis.. one of the team decided to bite into one (goodness knows why) and suffered as a result :-D

I will certainly go back to this restaurant, as part of a couple or a group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    215
    81
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

As Indian restaurants go, this was one of the best I had ever tasted, freshly cooked and hot when it all arrived......even the giant naan bread was a pleasant surprise.......a little dark in there and some of the dishes, I felt might have been a little over-priced, but on the whole, would recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjgrant1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love akbars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Been to many indian restaurants and still to find one as good as akbars, food is amazing great service when you eat in and can also order takeaway although you have to collect. It is a little dark inside but you can still see what you are eating 10/10

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GH2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent - But Take Your Torch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been going to Akbars since the good ole days it was just a smallish stand alone place on Leeds road in Bradford. Since then, we've been to five or six of the different branches and can confirm that they are all consistently excellent. The Rotherham branch looks nothing special from the road. however, once inside you will be very pleasantly surprised how exotic the surroundings are. Each branch is different from the next and this place is really nice - but very very dark inside. You would literally benefit from a torch to read the menu! Anyhow, as stated, the food is just the same as all the other Akbars, and that means very good indeed. Liver tikka to start is monumentally superb. Better than you will get anywhere else (and I've tried a hell of a lot!) I've tried most things on the menu over the years and these days usually find myself steering towards the chicken & mushroom balti. Now I never really go for this dish anywhere else as it can be fairly mundane. Not at Akbars, it's one of the tastiest dishes you will ever try anywhere. You may have guessed, I'm an Akbars fan by now and you would be right! They were probably one of the originators of the giant naan bread hanging off a stand on the table. A bit gimmicky these days but still better than the rest. The only downsides to this restaurant are the birthday celebrations. All too frequent and tedious (and an expensive add-on to the bill) Don't let that put you off though, this place is up there with the very best and only a whisker behind the Argrah in Leeds. Oh, and did I mention reasonably priced! (£20 per head for starter, main, side, and a couple of Cobra's)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Pakistani cuisine, attractive interior, generous portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not far from Meadowhall and the English Institute of Sport, Akbars attracted me because of the tie back to Pakistani cuisine which is subtly different from the Bangladeshi/Indian food found in many 'Indian' restaurants.

I wasn't disappointed though the outside looked a bit foreboding with a bouncer and big gates. Inside it is like a tardis, really big but architected so you never really see just one big room just many joined seating areas. It is rather done out in a classic Indian 'Indiana Jones' style with large wood carvings etc but nice enough if a little dark.

I was really pleased to see keema on the menu (lamb mince) which is a particular favourite and it was absolutely lovely, served with a huge garlic naan for my son and I to share. His chilli chicken was well cooked and had a real kick to it.

Plenty of Asian customers no doubt attracted by the Haleem and Nihari (traditional Lahore dishes - though not to my liking these days) which is usually a good sign!

Definitely one to remember when in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank really_razamataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Akbar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing