We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drawbridge

Drawbridge
Ranked #117 of 305 Restaurants in Rotherham
Price range: $4 - $5
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We open for breakfast at 8am daily and then we do a wide selection of carveries, pies,roast chicken and fish , and sausage meals, where te veg is unlimited.
York, UK
Level Contributor
480 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Cheap food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I took my parents here for a birthday treat. They are both in their 80's and love a carvery.

The staff could have been a little more friendly and the ambience is "OK".

However, we have eaten at many Crown Carveries before but my parents (who are notoriously hard to please) said it was "their best ever meal" that they have eaten out.

We ate on a Tuesday lunch time. There were very few people there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    62
    35
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“was my local”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

being on the doorstep and a midweek carvery for under £4, we used this place a lot. it was always hit and miss with the food, all depending on the time i think. the meats are always excellent, usually 3 choices, beef, gammon joint and turkey, all the accompaniments and a good choice of veggies. the cauliflower cheese is popular, but you have to time it right to get a good cheese topping. drinks are cheap and the choice is extensive, a wine by the bottle no dearer than a local off licence. we also had 2 christmas day lunches here, not bad prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annemarieparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food ok but to busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

the food was nice and the place is nice the only gripe that I had was that there were to many kids in shouting and screaming but thats just me if I wanted to be with a load of kids I would have gone to a school dining room

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Cheap meal what else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited the Drawbridge pub Carvery may 3rd 30 30 pm it was pretty quiet and could pick our places to sit. On walking to the serving area I noticed that all three meats were really well cooked something I am not keen on. Decided to have the Yorkshire puddings first which they let you do at some carveries. I had 4 Y P yes 4 because they were so tiny. Going back for the carvery I chose the Turkey because it look least well done of the three, the vegatables are very bland indeed very little taste in them the mash was like sticky splodge and roast potatoes hard and over done. We had a coupon for free Ice Cream for five but gave it away to a couple with their grand kids I hope it tasted alright for them.
The staff were very polite and friendly but we will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

not much to say about the menu, only thing i can say is it needs improving as some children will not eat half of the things you are serving and the desserts are lovely.

Helpful?
Thank kriissykorpse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drawbridge also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Drawbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing