We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here as a last minute getaway back in January. Clean and comfortable room with friendly and professional staff. We requested a 'quiet' room due to medical issues and this was granted without any hassle. The bathroom was a reasonable size and the shower was big enough for two ppl easy let alone one. Breakfast was nice and more than enough choice. There was also free parking and wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    248
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
105
384
39
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Aston Hotel for 2 nights. Situated on an industrial park with lots of free parking. Main focus of stay was a concert at the Motorpoint Arena. Hotel is ideally situated. Only cost £6 on bank holiday rates to the arena in a taxi. Also very close to meadowhall. Rooms spacious, modern and very clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely buffet breakfast. Great choice. Cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, preserves plus very tasty full English breakfast. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again for our next concert.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UkJetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here after having laser eye surgery rather than go home over 1hr 1/2 away, as I had an aftercare appointment the next day! Was nice to get back to a clean comfortable room, lovely bathroom and huge bed. Was brief stay and didn't eat at the restaurant nor have breakfast, but would recommend as very good value for money given the facilities in the room and standard of decor and cleanliness

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCD1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent hotel with very nice guest rooms; comfortable and very clean in good repair. Due to the out of town location recommended for guests with their own transportation - ample free parking. Free wifi which, for a change, actually worked with a strong signal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed on the Chatsworth Break offered by the hotel. Hotel very clean and public areas welcoming and spacious. Room large and bathroom was very good. Staff were very friendly and available 24 hours a day. The breakfast was buffet style, not our favourite way to have breakfast but the choice was good with all the usual breakfast offerings. The evening meal was included in the deal and this is where we were a little disappointed. The choice was very limited (3 items for starter, main course and dessert).On the second night I asked if they had a broader menu to offer us. I was told that there was but that we would have to pay a supplement to choose from that menu. We were happy to pay extra but were not offered the choice and only found out about it because I asked. We asked for wine and was offered various choices but were not offered a wine menu and when we got the bill we realised a glass of wine had cost £7.25! Be warned. The hotel offers value for money but needs to improve the restaurant experience. Although the staff were attentive they were lacking professionalism, for instance they tried to take my plate whilst I was still eating and the waiter considered it appropriate to lean across the table, and us, to serve the bread rolls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftykaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fabulous hotel, rooms lovely, food really well presented. We attended a Murder Mystery night and really were not expecting the hotel to be a nice as it was for the price we laid. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathypDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have stayed before and as always it has been a wonderful experience The staff are very friendly and everything is clean and fresh We would certainly stay again the breakfast has plenty of choice and is all so freshly done. The receptionist was very helpful and every thing we asked her to do she was very courteous and made sure all our needs were met The rooms are clean and you have great views most of our needs were met and the only part I would like to improve is that there would be a few biscuits along side the Tea and Coffee facilities but this is really the only criticism we had . We also had a meal before we went to our Show and there was plenty of choice and excellently cooked and presented We would certainly stay again and would say to anyone who is in the area to give the Aston a try they will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Property: Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing