We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in first-class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed Saturday & Sunday night for the Chatsworth Break. Absolutely spotless hotel with friendliest staff we have ever met. The hotel is only about 5 years old, located off the A630 near Rotherham/Sheffield, on a business park, so nothing of interest nearby, unless you enjoy looking at cars for sale, as the Car People are right next to the hotel, but this does not matter in the slightest. The hotel has mostly guests staying for business during the week. Our room was very spacious with probably one of the nicest, cleanest bathrooms we have ever had - a very large walk-in shower, with panelling rather than tiles, so no messy grout. There was a flat screen tv, kettle, tea,coffee and biscuits, a hairdryer, and iron and ironing board. The lighting was very good and the air conditioning was welcome as the weather was quite humid. The bed seemed larger than a king-size, extremely comfortable with immaculate white bedding. The package included a three-course meal on one evening with bottle of wine, and it was excellent. There was plenty of choice for breakfast with fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, prunes, grapefruit, toast, and cooked choice of bacon, sausage, fried eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. The bacon and sausage were particularly good quality and probably locally sourced, rather than cheap supermarket quality. We were given a packed lunch on Sunday of sandwich, crisps, banana and bottled water, along with our included ticket for Chatsworth House, which in itself would have cost £16.00 each. We don't really know how the Aston can offer such a package for the price but we were grateful for it and had a memorable weekend. The hotel is a credit to the owners and staff (who seemed genuinely very happy to be working there), and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a clean, comfortable, friendly and well-run hotel. They certainly deserve your business and much larger chain hotels could learn or thing or two from The Aston.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Denise E,

Thank you for such a lovely, positive and informative review of the Aston Hotel Sheffield.

I will ensure your comments are shared with the team and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay enough to recommend us to others.

I hope we will welcome you back to the hotel again soon,

Kind regards

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 889 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the Chatsworth Break - and what good value this is. The hotel is in an easily acessable area on the edge of Rotherham. It is a modern hotel with good size rooms, that are very comfortable. We loved the air conditioning as it was hot outside and it was a welcome respite from the heat. The break is excellent value for money and we really enjoyed staying at the hotel. We found that the staff were mostly very good and in a couple of cases were really excellent. I think that Ben and Nicole both deserve special mentions for the high quality, friendly and cheerful level of service that they both offered. We had to think very hard to see if there were any negative points - a small mix up with our card on arrival (overcharged but was put right but communication could have been better), no cress in an egg and cress sandwich, or young girl behind bar getting very confused when a brandy was ordered, but these are all small things and did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay at all. The food in the restaurant is very good too, tastes delicious and good sized portions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - I hope that there are plans to open further hotels in the South and if you do and they are to this standard we will certainly visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111. It was clean and mostly quiet (guests in room above seemed to be running a ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear tubeway,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that overall your stay was a positive one and I have ensured that Ben & Nicola have been recognized for your comments.

I would also like to thank you for your other comments which I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager about. Feedback like yours is a great asset to the hotel as it identifies specific areas that we can work on.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with very relaxed and welcoming ambiance. Large bedroom wioth very comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food. Easy access from motorway. Overall , a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear B M,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review with the Tripadvisor community. It is always a delight to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is located in an out of town location close to the industrial estate however, do not be put off you are not looking over industrial units. We stay here while on a short visit to the area, The hotel general presentation, the roomwas spotlessly clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Superb hotel in out of town location, You will need a car if staying here. Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downsman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Downsman2000,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Aston Hotel and that you felt able to leave positive comments on many aspects including our location and hope other readers will be encouraged by your thoughts.

While having access to a car is certainly a benefit for those staying at the Aston Hotel Sheffield I would also add that there is a bus stop just 2 minutes from the hotel should any visitors which to travel to the city center.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent value for the price paid. At £69 each for a 2 night Chatsworth House break - included 2 nights B&B, 1 evening meal with wine, packed lunch and two tickets for Chatsworth House. Although located on an industrial park, so no nice garden or surroundings, ideal to get to just off the M1 motorway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Lozzie2013,

Thank you for making the Aston Hotel Sheffield the recipient of your first Tripadvisor review.

Feedback of all forms is extremely important to myself and the team and it always a pleasure to know that our guests are leaving having enjoyed their time at the Aston Hotel.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very easy to find, just off the M1. We had a short stay of two nights on their 'Chatsworth' deal which was excellent value. This included a 3 course meal on the first night, with a bottle of wine, a packed lunch on one day and two tickets to Chatsworth House - all for £69 each. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was of a very good standard and spotless.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sara S,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to be able to share such positive comments with the hotel team.

I hope that you will recommend the Aston Hotel Sheffield to your friends & family and consider us for your next visit.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked a Chatsworth Break through Travel Zoo. It was very reasonable and seemed to offer a lot for the price. Because of this I didn't expect too much.
I was instantly impressed however, on arrival at the hotel. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was modern, clean and well presented. Our room was great and it came with air conditioning which was a huge plus in the recent heat-wave. The bathroom facilities were immaculate.
The food was of a good standard. A 3 course dinner on the first night was included in the deal and was served by cheerful, friendly, helpful staff. Amazingly, it included a bottle of wine too!
The hotel was well situated and the beautiful Peak District was easily accessed. Over-all a great hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisyG237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear chrisyG237,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Aston Hotel Sheffield and the Chatsworth package which has been extremely popular this season.

I do hope you will consider the Aston Hotel Sheffield and our other packages for your next short break or visit to the area.

Kind regards


Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
904 reviews
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
779 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing