We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff - Thanks to you all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel with wonderful staff - Thanks to you all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the Chatsworth Break - and what good value this is. The hotel is in an easily acessable area on the edge of Rotherham. It is a modern hotel with good size rooms, that are very comfortable. We loved the air conditioning as it was hot outside and it was a welcome respite from the heat. The break is excellent value for money and we really enjoyed staying at the hotel. We found that the staff were mostly very good and in a couple of cases were really excellent. I think that Ben and Nicole both deserve special mentions for the high quality, friendly and cheerful level of service that they both offered. We had to think very hard to see if there were any negative points - a small mix up with our card on arrival (overcharged but was put right but communication could have been better), no cress in an egg and cress sandwich, or young girl behind bar getting very confused when a brandy was ordered, but these are all small things and did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay at all. The food in the restaurant is very good too, tastes delicious and good sized portions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - I hope that there are plans to open further hotels in the South and if you do and they are to this standard we will certainly visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111. It was clean and mostly quiet (guests in room above seemed to be running a ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear tubeway,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that overall your stay was a positive one and I have ensured that Ben & Nicola have been recognized for your comments.

I would also like to thank you for your other comments which I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager about. Feedback like yours is a great asset to the hotel as it identifies specific areas that we can work on.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    247
    69
    19
    16
See reviews for
104
378
39
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with very relaxed and welcoming ambiance. Large bedroom wioth very comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food. Easy access from motorway. Overall , a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear B M,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review with the Tripadvisor community. It is always a delight to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arboleas, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is located in an out of town location close to the industrial estate however, do not be put off you are not looking over industrial units. We stay here while on a short visit to the area, The hotel general presentation, the roomwas spotlessly clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Superb hotel in out of town location, You will need a car if staying here. Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downsman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Downsman2000,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Aston Hotel and that you felt able to leave positive comments on many aspects including our location and hope other readers will be encouraged by your thoughts.

While having access to a car is certainly a benefit for those staying at the Aston Hotel Sheffield I would also add that there is a bus stop just 2 minutes from the hotel should any visitors which to travel to the city center.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent value for the price paid. At £69 each for a 2 night Chatsworth House break - included 2 nights B&B, 1 evening meal with wine, packed lunch and two tickets for Chatsworth House. Although located on an industrial park, so no nice garden or surroundings, ideal to get to just off the M1 motorway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lozzie2013,

Thank you for making the Aston Hotel Sheffield the recipient of your first Tripadvisor review.

Feedback of all forms is extremely important to myself and the team and it always a pleasure to know that our guests are leaving having enjoyed their time at the Aston Hotel.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to find, just off the M1. We had a short stay of two nights on their 'Chatsworth' deal which was excellent value. This included a 3 course meal on the first night, with a bottle of wine, a packed lunch on one day and two tickets to Chatsworth House - all for £69 each. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was of a very good standard and spotless.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sara S,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to be able to share such positive comments with the hotel team.

I hope that you will recommend the Aston Hotel Sheffield to your friends & family and consider us for your next visit.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked a Chatsworth Break through Travel Zoo. It was very reasonable and seemed to offer a lot for the price. Because of this I didn't expect too much.
I was instantly impressed however, on arrival at the hotel. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was modern, clean and well presented. Our room was great and it came with air conditioning which was a huge plus in the recent heat-wave. The bathroom facilities were immaculate.
The food was of a good standard. A 3 course dinner on the first night was included in the deal and was served by cheerful, friendly, helpful staff. Amazingly, it included a bottle of wine too!
The hotel was well situated and the beautiful Peak District was easily accessed. Over-all a great hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisyG237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear chrisyG237,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Aston Hotel Sheffield and the Chatsworth package which has been extremely popular this season.

I do hope you will consider the Aston Hotel Sheffield and our other packages for your next short break or visit to the area.

Kind regards


Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a 'chatsworth' break via Travelzoo. Hotel was lovely, Becky on reception deserves a mention. She is very friendly and welcoming. The room was very spacious, bed was very comfortable - we both slept very well on both nights although was woken early yesterday morning by the bin men!! The hotel was very clean although as previous reviewers mentioned the carpet in the reception and dining room could do with either a deep clean or being replaced. We had a 3 course evening meal as part of the package - this was absolutely delicious - compliments to the chef!! Both my husband and I had the hungarian goulash - divine!! Breakfast on both days was buffet style and again brilliant. The male servers (I think one of them was called Chris) were very polite,efficient and did their jobs well - a credit to the hotel. The female servers (didn't have name badges) were polite enough but not very attentive or welcoming. We were given packed lunches (a sandwich, banana or apple, a packet of crisps and a bottle of water) - nothing to write home about but okay. Chatsworth House was lovely and well worth a visit. Checkout was again very efficient (sorry not sure of the name of the receptionist). Overall the package is great value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay near Sheffield. Excellent!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty7802010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear kitty7802010,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We couldn't ask for more than for our guests to feel able to give personal recommendations from our guests to friends and family.

I will ensure that both Chris and Becky are aware of your positive comments and will have the other matters addressed.

Many thanks & kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Property: Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing