We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well done aston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

let me start by saying the girl that was on reception thursday 25th july and sat 27th july was brill, such a polite and kind girl. she booked me in on the phone then made sure my room was perfect for me, thank you for that.
my first visit to the aston was with mixed reviews, we decided to try it again and cant fault it at all.
we stayed in an exec room which was perfect.
breakfast was good too with a self serve area. if there was one thing i could suggest it would be a 'please wait here to be seated' sign on the entrance of the restaurant as people were very unsure about what to do and were sitting down on dirty seats and being ignored.
we visit the area 2 to 3 times per year and would defo stay at the aston again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear mandz2,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Aston Hotel.

Our aim is to ensure every guest has the best possible stay every visit and I am delighted that we succeeded on your recent visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards


Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 917 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked a 2 night break with a friend, included was B&B, dinner first night, with bottle of wine and tickets to Chatsworth. They also included a voucher for 20% discount on wine if we dined the following evening. The room was clean, the beds comfy and the bathroom clean with a good shower and hot water. The windows opened which is always a plus in an hotel room! The breakfast was very good for choice, although a small gripe would be the toast - it would be better if it was made to order rather than a dish of barely warm bread. The dinners were very good, we ate both evenings and always plumped for a homemade dish and although the portions were a little large for us the food was well presented and very nice. The young man on reception when we arrived was very helpful and the waiting staff were also very attentive. A very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear SallyB69,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisors.

It is always a pleasure when our guests take time to leave positive comments especially when related to team members.

I have noted your comments regarding the toast and will look at alternatives immediately.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed on the two night Chatsworth package , hotel was excellent,food good , upgraded our room to executive room which was superb.
Must make a point about the staff all were polite and helpful,but the one who was really helfull was the young girl on reception when ever you asked her anything the soughted it out straight away and always with a smile on her face , credit to the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear tony w,

Thank you for the lovely positive review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt able to share such positive comments with Tripadvisor readers.

I sincerely hope that you will choose the Aston Hotel when next visiting the area.

Kind regards


Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From booking this deal via Travel zoo, any contact or queries we had with the hotel staff, were met with attentive and helpful responses. On arrival we were greeted by an openly friendly young man, who couldn't do enough to explain and assist us. This theme ran through our entire stay, the wonderful, likeable, helpful young staff team are the thing that made our stay so memorable.
The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable and the rooms are huge and well maintained. We had a massive bed, a shower and a large bath, which was fabulous.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and again were met with excellent service. The breakfasts were equally as good and there was an extensive choice. We had the kippers and a soft poached egg one morning and it was lovely. The good is freshly cooked and good quality.
The only negative is the location,for leisure seekers like us you are a little isolated unless you drive everywhere. However this didn't put us off and we spent a lovely day at Rother Valley park, which is a 5 minute drive away from the hotel.
We loved our stay here and will recommend this to our friends and we will be back. We left feeling relaxed and happy and it's mostly down to the care and customer service we received from a fantastic group of staff. Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear tebb,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute please to read your comments and I will ensure they are published for the team to see.

It is our aim to ensure that every guest receives exceptional service at all times and I am delighted that you would recommend our hotel to your friends & family.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a 3 day 'Chatsworth House' Break last week. Booked a Great Little Breaks Deal for 2 days Great value with Dinner 1st night, plus bottle of wine and Chatsworth House tickets. Was a bit apprehensive as it was only a 3 Star Hotel and close to the Motorway, but read the good reviews and gave it a go.What a pleasant surprise, hence us staying an extra day! The staff were all so friendly and helpful and our Executive room was great with a very large bed, nice bathroom, desk etc Although close to the Motorway it didn't disturb us at all and the location was great with Meadowhall Shopping Centre close by and a 20 minute drive to Chatsworth House. The food in the Bar and the restaurant was 5 star, and the food was so good we decided to eat in on thWee 2nd night which again was excellent. We've stayed in 4 star Hotels and the food hasn't been as good as this! A nice atmosphere in the restaurant too and really helpful, efficient & happy staff. Will definitely return to this Hotel and a huge plus is ALL the Staff were good, friendly and helpful.(too many to mention individually, but Becky was lovely!)

Room Tip: We had an Executive Room on the top floor so really quiet with just a slight traffic noise, not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrietrayhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear barrietrayhurn,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay and found both the offer and the location to be so positive.

I do hope you will choose the Aston Hotel should you visit the area again.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here twice now. Great service, great food and the rooms are spotless. I stay nr Rotherham a lot , and have stayed in most of the hotels in Sheffield and Rotherham. But from now on this will be my first choice!!

Room Tip: All rooms good! No gym or pool but thats not my idea of fun anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandkatie-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear markandkatie-G,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Many thanks


Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed on the Travelzoo Chatsworth House package which is cracking value. Similar package is available directly with the hotel for not much more. The hotel is modern and new, the rooms really nice and the beds huge and comfy. The staff are the best thing about the hotel - really helpful and friendly. The food was really good - I'd recommended having a meal in the restaurant even if it isn't included - portions are massive though so you don't need three courses!
Hotel is more geared towards business customers than leisure I think personally and the location is great for business customers because it is near a huge industrial estate. There is a Boundary Mill Store and Morrisons in walking distance but you have to drive to everything else. Chatsworth about 40 mins drive, Meadowhall about 5 mins drive. There is a bus stop outside the hotel where you can get a bus to Sheffield city centre every half an hour for about £4 return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear dkm1981,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the package value for money.

I sincerely hope that you will choose the Aston Hotel when considering your next trip.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
813 reviews
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing